Skip to content

My Fashion Icons

June 10, 2011
by

A lot of people talk about who or what inspires them when they get dressed or sew new clothes. For most sewing bloggers it seems like inspiration come from the early 20th century fashions and movie stars: 1930s, 1940s, 1950s, Audrey Hepburn, Katherine Hepburn, Marilyn Monroe, Dita Von Tess (a modern lady, but definitely in the 50s style), etc. I don’t take much inspiration from those time periods, I think my body type definitely influences me because I am pretty small and straight.

Here is a general list of the ideas and styles that influence me, it may seem a little schizophrenia jumping from the 60s to the 90s but it makes sense to me. These are just the things I grew up with and love. I like a lot of modern designers too like Jason Wu and Milly, but I’m not listing them all right now.

Diana Riggs and the Avengers, 1961:

This show wasn’t on very often when I was little because it was 20 years old at that point, British, and probably only played on the old movie channel. But when it was on, I always loved Diana Riggs outfits as she played Emma Peel. From IMDb:

John Steed works for British Intelligence and always has a female partner. The problems he finds are always a bit odd, just on the edge of science fiction (Cyborg killers, a city built under a disused coal mine, a gang put together for adrenalin junkies, and a killer who uses a concentrated cold virus to kill his victims by having them sneeze to death). Steed is always the ultimate in culture and grace as he saves the world each week.

Fashion line inspired by the Avenger designed by John Bates, also the shows costume designer

I really need to watch this show again, but there is a long wait for it on Netflix.

Jaws, 1975:

Ok, I know this one doesn’t make a lot of sense right off the bat, but it’s more the atmosphere of the movie that inspires me: beach, ocean, island tourist community, and I do like sharks too. Again from IMDb:

When a gigantic great white shark begins to menace the small island community of Amity, a police chief, a marine scientist and grizzled fisherman set out to stop it.

Daria, 1997:

I think just as much of my fashion inspiration comes from cartoons as it does from real people. Of all the tv shows actually produced in my life, this is up there at the top. I was probably a little too young for it at the time, but my older sister watched it and anything she did, I did. Of course, Daria’s character was my favorite and I really want to dress as her for Halloween sometime, but Modcloth recently did a profile of Quinn, Daria’s younger more fashionable sister. From IMDb:

A smart & cynical girl goes through teenage life as a proud outsider in a world of mainly idiotic teens and condescending adults.

The main characters of Daria

Clueless, 1995:

I couldn’t count the number of times I’ve watched this movie, it was always just so fascinating probably because it was so completely different from anyone’s life that I actually knew. I never saw anyone ever dress like the girls in this movie (or the boys for that matter) in Nebraska, but fashion is slow to reach the middle of the country anyways. Let’s see what IMBd has to say about Clueless:

A US West Coast teen lifestyle parody centered around Cher, a popular high school girl who spends her days playing match-maker, helping her friends with fashion choices, and looking for a boyfriend.

Not that these style are still in fashion completely as is, but there have been a couple recent designers that had collections in this style. And honestly, I really like it.

~Molly 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2011 2:23 am

    I like the Avengers too. And I also get inspiration from some comics. It’s interesting what you say about the overall feel of Jaws!

  2. June 12, 2011 5:09 am

    Very interesting fashion icons!
    In reply, no I don’t think Pattern Magic 2 is harder or easier than Pattern Magic (1). Just an extension, with a different type of pattern manipulation ideas.

So, what do you think?

