Skip to content

Summer Essentials Sewing Plans

June 1, 2011
by


Here is what I’m thinking for Summer Sewing

Poolside Pretties: Anything that cools or dries you off when there’s lots of sun and water around. One and two-piece swimsuits, swimsuit cover-ups, surf shorts, sun hats, oh my! One versatile swimsuit cover-up I find lovely is a terry cloth dress. Double-duty, that’s what I’m talking about.

  • Reline my current swimsuit. I really like my swimsuit, it’s cute and flattering, but the lining makes me so itchy after being in the water for 5 minutes, so I don’t want to make a new suit just attempt to put a new lining in my current one. To me, that’s enough of a challenge.

Clam Diggers & Co.: Bifurcated bottoms of every style and length, from flowing linen pants to short-shorts and all the inbetweens—clam diggers, pedal pushers, Bermuda shorts, etc.

  • Jeans, it may get up to 100F up here during the summer but I still wear jeans because I really hate shorts unless I’m going swimming. Besides, the way it’s been raining non-stop up here, it probably won’t be a very hot summer (flood advisory anyone?).

McCall's 5894

Sweet & Sassy Skirts: Prints and solids, short and long, low-slung and high-waisted. But most of all: Airy, flirty, flattering.

  • I’m thinking about buying Colette’s new Ginger skirt pattern, it’s a shape that is flattering on me and there are tons of variations that you can do. I’m sure I’ll be making more than just one skirt, but Ginger is an expensive pattern for me so that will be the official Sassy Skirt.

Colette 1016 Ginger

The Sundress: Need I say more? To me, the perfect sun dress strikes that cord between casual and elegant—arms and collarbones, looking good barefoot or high-heeled. It’s something you can wear to both a barbecue and a summer wedding.

  • Oh man, I have tons of dress patterns and ideas for an endless number of dresses. Right now in the queue I have these: 

    BurdaStyle 108 5/2011

    Butterick 5242

    These might also get made, but I don’t have any fabric in mind yet:

    McCall's 6350 - with shoulder straps

    Vogue 1179

Tees, Tunics & Blouses: Yes, please! I’m finally understanding the worth of blouses as they also strike that balance between casual/formal, totally versatile. I’m also thinking mini-dresses that do triple duty as tunics, dresses and cover-ups.

  • Another thing I love making and have plenty queued up to make already that will be great for this summer:

McCall's 2222 OOP

Simplicity 5451 OOP

Those Summer Nights: Pullovers, cardies and hoodies may be the last thing you’re thinking of with the mercury rising, but there’s those cool summer nights, not to mention every last establishment with the air con blasting. Or: for those of you where thunderstorms are a daily summer experience, a lightweight trench?

  • Again, I have projects in the queue that will work for this category as well. Usually I’d consider this out of season sewing, but so far this summer I’ve been needing those long sleeve back ups.

Vogue 1071 - with full length sleeves

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 12:10 am

    You have some great summer sewing plans lining up there! I adore that turquoise burdastyle dress.

  2. June 4, 2011 1:55 pm

    i’ve been mulling over whether to join in summer essentials or not.
    loving you plans, and like carolyn i think that burda dress is gorgeous!

So, what do you think?

