Skip to content

Summer Essentials Sew Along

May 25, 2011
by

I don’t join in many sew-alongs because I have a pretty big queue of projects to make already and don’t usually feel the need to change those plans to sew the same thing that tons of other people are sewing, and personally I think reading such in depth posts about other people’s sewing is boring – some updates and final summaries are fine for me. But this is definitely a sew-along that I can get on board with because:

  • There are no real deadlines, only a general end-of-summer end point
  • We’re not all sewing the same patterns
  • There are lots of fun categories that I can probably make fit with projects already in my queue
  • And the blog badges are super cute!

So, from Ali of The Wardrobe, Reimagined, here is a rundown of the Sumer Essentials Sew Along.

ABOUT THE SEW-ALONG

In an effort to be as laid back as summer heat inspires, the Summer Essentials Sew-Along asks participants to sew five(-ish) warm-weather friendly pieces by August(-ish), ‘cause wouldn’t you rather spend August looking fabulous in your homemade threads? The goal: Stock your closet with quality summer basics. The benefit: A group of sewers who will encourage and inspire you, not to mention talk you off the ledge when you need it!

To me, there are six categories of summer wear. Feel free to add to this, but this is just to start us thinking of what you need/want.

Poolside Pretties: Anything that cools or dries you off when there’s lots of sun and water around. One and two-piece swimsuits, swimsuit cover-ups, surf shorts, sun hats, oh my! One versatile swimsuit cover-up I find lovely is a terry cloth dress. Double-duty, that’s what I’m talking about.

Clam Diggers & Co.: Bifurcated bottoms of every style and length, from flowing linen pants to short-shorts and all the inbetweens—clam diggers, pedal pushers, Bermuda shorts, etc.

Sweet & Sassy Skirts: Prints and solids, short and long, low-slung and high-waisted. But most of all: Airy, flirty, flattering.

The Sundress: Need I say more? To me, the perfect sun dress strikes that cord between casual and elegant—arms and collarbones, looking good barefoot or high-heeled. It’s something you can wear to both a barbecue and a summer wedding.

Tees, Tunics & Blouses: Yes, please! I’m finally understanding the worth of blouses as they also strike that balance between casual/formal, totally versatile. I’m also thinking mini-dresses that do triple duty as tunics, dresses and cover-ups.

Those Summer Nights: Pullovers, cardis and hoodies may be the last thing you’re thinking of with the mercury rising, but there’s those cool summer nights, not to mention every last establishment with the air con blasting. Or: for those of you where thunderstorms are a daily summer experience, a lightweight trench?

I’m just starting to think about the possibilities of this challenge, so I’ll post more about what I’m planning on making later on this week or the next (I’ll be out of town this weekend for my little sister’s high school graduation).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 3:11 pm

    Hi Molly! Welcome to the Summer Essentials Sew-along, I’m looking forward to seeing what garments you’re going to come up with!

  2. Ali permalink
    May 26, 2011 1:56 pm

    Woo-hoo! Welcome! Looking forward to seeing what you come up with 🙂

  3. May 27, 2011 1:58 am

    It would be lots of fun to join you in this sew-along, but I am sewing my winter essentials right now!! Wrong hemisphere, doh!

So, what do you think?

