Skip to content

Twisted Storm Clouds Top

May 20, 2011

This is another top made in my never quest to find awesome t-shirt patterns, and the results are pretty good I think. I bought this fabric in Seattle and only had 1 yard because it was kind of expensive, but it was definitely worth it because it’s soooo amazing! I love how the wavy pattern is created with nubs of shiny threads, and it’s a knit so it’s comfortable. The fabric makes this top on the dressy side of things because of the small amount of shine, but that won’t stop me from wearing it regularly. Because it’s raining non stop today and this top is varying shades of black and grey, I’ve named it the twisted storm cloud top.

Pattern: Butterick 5429, top B

Fabric: Nubbly knit, probably with polyester in it.

Pattern Description: Tops B, C are close-fitting with front neckline twist, dropped shoulders and stitched hems. B: sleeveless.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Not really, it’s much looser and shorter than the drawing suggests, and the twist in the neckline is not that tight but these things could probably be effected by the weight and stretch of the fabric.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the twist is confusing if you just look at the illustrations, but the illustrations plus the written directions make it very clear.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s a plain t-shirt but with a twist! haha, I know that’s dumb but the twist does make it more interesting.

Pattern Sizing: 8-14, I cut size 10

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: None, but next time I would make the loop on the front piece skinnier for a better looking twist and lengthen it a couple inches.

Would you sew it again? Maybe, but not anytime soon

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I don’t really like any of the other patterns included in the envelope but I think this top is really nice.

~Molly

One Comment leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    May 21, 2011 1:53 am

    The search for awesome Tshirt patterns ….. I love that and this top looks cute on you. Isn’t it amazing that we buy patterns because only one style in the envelope appeals? Hmmmm I do that too and it feels like I’m wasting the rest of the unappreciated garments. Won’t get me to make them up though and I guess it doesn’t really matter if I still like that one style after making it up!

So, what do you think?

