Skip to content

Hippy of the Hills Dress

May 18, 2011
by

I’ve liked this pattern since it first came out quite awhile ago and bought it almost immediately. But I never made it, lots of other people made up the version with the dramatic collar which was why I bought it originally and all the creations looked amazing, but it wasn’t a style I would ever wear. Then I bought this linen with an amazing print and needed a simple, casual style to show it off. Thats where this pattern came back into my mind and would not leave, I had to make this dress and I have to say I think it turned out pretty well!

The end result of this dress makes me think of semi underground nature-loving hippy community we have here in the Black Hills of South Dakota (as opposed to conservative wannabe cowboys). With the massive amount of forests and nature reserves in this area and the complete uniqueness of the Hills themselves, it’s hard not to be inspired (now if only politics and economics never came into the picture in the forest everything would be perfect). The  linen I used has a sort of 60s psychedelic inspired print which makes me think hippy immediately, especially with the subdued, earthy color tones, and it’s a fairly course, nubbly linen which is also very hippy provoking.

So this is my Hippy of the Hills dress, inspired by the ‘local color’ of the Black Hills.

I actually went outside to get pictures! I still don't have a tripod though so I had to strategically maneuver my car to use as a camera stand.

Pattern: Simplicity 2497, view B shortened to the length of view A.

Fabric: Linen with a fun 60s psychedelic inspired print

Pattern Description: Misses’ dress in three lengths with neckline variations.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? The final shape of the dress looked exactly like the photograph, it doesn’t really drape like the drawing suggests unless you tightened the waist band but it’s more comfortable like that.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were OK, and that’s saying something for a Big 4 pattern (as in not good). Everything in the instructions is fine until you get to the pockets. Because there is a side zipper, the left pocket has to be inserted around the zipper and the instructions were not super clear about how this was done. In the end I followed the general idea of the instructions but just plowed through doing it my own way.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the style and how it can switch from a day dress to an evening dress very easily, and it’s really comfortable. I do wish there were more sleeve options than just fluffy or puffy, but the double pleats on the sleeves instead of simple gathers is really cool looking. It might also be nice if it did look more like the cover art with the waist being tighter, but that would be an easy fix if I ever felt like it (maybe for an evening version).

Pattern Sizing: 4-12, I cut a straight 10

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: None, other than not totally following the pocket directions and I didn’t have the right zipper length (mine is really long) but it doesn’t really affect anything.

I took some indoor pics too because it's kindof cloudy and windy today.

Would you sew it again? Yes!

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, it’s such a modern style in my opinion, as in not based on any other decade I think. And it’s super comfortable because the waist isn’t tight.

The scenic Black Hills, you should all come visit haha!

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie g permalink
    May 18, 2011 8:29 pm

    Very cute dress and I love the sleeve details, too.
    Your picture and description makes me want to visit North Dakota to see the Black Hills–it’s on the bucket list!

  2. saro permalink
    May 18, 2011 10:03 pm

    I spent a summer in South Dakota and loved Rapid City when we visited, soooo pretty!

  3. May 20, 2011 4:18 am

    Very cute dress, and I love the print, such pretty colours. You DO live in a very lovely area!

  4. May 23, 2011 8:39 pm

    SO great without those ruffles!!!

So, what do you think?

