Skip to content

New Yorker Pullover

May 12, 2011

Finally, a project that was easy to sew and turned out great. During the last Me-Made challenge in March that I participated in I was always cold and didn’t have very many long sleeve me-made garments. Of course winter is now completely over, but I have a really large project queue and I don’t like straying from it too much else I’d never use up my stash! So this pullover will be more helpful in about 5-6 months but that’s ok.

I really love the style of this sweat shirt, it reminds me of the trip I took to New York when I was 11 to visit my Aunt, Uncle and Cousins. They are much richer than my family because my Uncle is a lawyer and all had very preppy styles back then (when Aunt got to decide what everyone wore lol! But really they haven’t changed that much because of the yacht club atmosphere they grew up in), they even own a sail boat. Once I finished this pullover and tried it on again it really felt exactly like something my cousins would wear to go out sailing. I may not live anywhere near the ocean (probably about as far away from the ocean as you can get) but I still love that preppy style.

Pattern: Simplicity 7314 from the 1960s

Fabric: Navy blue rib knit, almost too stretchy for this purpose.

Pattern Description: Blouses have one-piece raglan sleeves and “stand-up” collar. V. 1 &2 have front zipper closing. V. 1 & 3 have about wrist-length cleeves. V. 2 & 4 have short sleeves. V. 3 & 4 have bias collar and back zipper.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Basically, the styling back then was quite a bit different

Zipped up, racer style

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the diagrams were almost too detailed if that’s possible.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s really basic but stylish at the same time and can have a lot of variations because you can use any fabric type at all. I think with a knit though like I used, you don’t need the elbow darts and next time I’ll leave them off.

Pattern Sizing: 10, 31 inch bust.

This is what my pictures all look like with the window wide open, I really need to get a tripod so I can go outside for pictures

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: None.

Would you sew it again? Yes, once I get though the rest of my queue and once I find a good heavy knit.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, but it’s vintage so maybe I would just recommend the style to others.

~Molly

No comments yet

So, what do you think?

