Skip to content

Bumble Bee Sting Dress

May 10, 2011
tags: ,
by

Let me start off by tell you that I almost never need to make alterations to patterns, and if I do need an alteration it’s usually minor enough that I can ignore it. Besides being 3 inches shorter than the standard form that most pattern companies use, I’m not a whole lot different it seems. This dress,  on the other hand, was a pain in the butt because it was so far off from the typical sizing for some reason. Hence the ‘sting’ in the name of this dress. The other part of the name is pretty obvious, I wanted a yellow and black dress. Specifically a darker shade of yellow, I suppose you could call this mustard yellow, and it’s amazing how hard it was to find just the right color.

The dress color is so bright I had a hard time photographing it.


Pattern: Vogue 8648, view F

Fabric: Yellow and black solid quilting cotton

Pattern Description: Lined dresses A, B, C, D, E, F, fitted through bust, mid-knee, have princess seams, bias midriff and back zipper. A, B, C: bias sides, straight skirt with back slit. B: contrast sides and midriff. D, E, F: bias side bodice, circular skirt, narrow hem. E: contrast bodice. C, F: above elbow sleeves.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Kindof…

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the style and how the bodice is all lined. But it fits horribly, I cut my usual size but had to take it in nearly 2 inches at the sides and off the top of the shoulders.

Pattern Sizing: 6-12, I cut a size 10

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: Like I said above, I took it in about 2 inches at the sides and off the top. I didn’t do it very nicely because I didn’t realize it didn’t fit until after I was nearly done, it’s hard to really tell when there’s no one to help you. So I was kind of pissed off at the dress at that point and let it sit for 4 or 5 months before hacking away at it yesterday and today. I think I took a little bit too much ease off the shoulders because the waist seems just a little bit too high on me, but it’s livable and I’m not going back to fix it.

Would you sew it again? No

Would you recommend it to others? Only if you measure the pattern pieces first before cutting, if you don’t want to do that then I do not recommend it.

On another note, my chiffon dress is also not going well and I think i’m going to have to either chuck it or just not work on it for several months (If you haven’t noticed by now when I have trouble with a pattern and get mad at the project I just put it aside for several months and do other things).

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    May 10, 2011 5:25 pm

    I love the dress, if it does have any fitting problems I certainly can not tell! On another note, I do the same thing when I get fusterated with projects, I actually have 3 that have been sitting for over a year to finish. 🙂

  2. May 11, 2011 12:49 am

    Thanks for the warning about the sizing! I actually think the higher waist looks good on the finished dress. The black inset really makes it work.

So, what do you think?

