Skip to content

The Royal Bridesmaid Dress PATTERN!

May 4, 2011
by

I’m sure you’ve all heard about the royal wedding over in England and seen pictures of all the fashion. I did really like Kate’s wedding dress, but in terms of something I could make/wear, her sister Pippa’s dress was even better. And then today I saw on Miss Celie’s Pants an Australian pattern company had already made a knockoff pattern of Pippa’s dress.

Now I’m second guessing my idea of my own wedding dress. I was planning on making a version of V1032, but I haven’t bought anything for it yet so I could still change my mind. Pippa’s dress would suit my body shape and look very elegant, simple, and work great for the setting of the ceremony and party. My only hesitation is I’ve never heard of this pattern company before, I’m sure the sizing is fine but it looks like you can only buy one size at a time so I’d have to decide what size I am before buying. I don’t really want to have to grade something this complicated if I don’t end up buying the right size.

Does anyone have experience with this company’s sizing?

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti permalink
    May 5, 2011 8:33 pm

    I think it would be fabulous and thought it would make a lovely wedding dress when I first saw it while watching the wedding. My daughter got married last year and she had a similar dress although hers was out of silk lace. No I didn’t make it. Local designer here in Portland. It was so different from normal wedding dresses. Or at least the ones we were looking at. Unfortunately, I can’t help you with the pattern sizing. Maybe Handmade by Carolyn can help.

  2. May 7, 2011 8:12 am

    Sorry Molly, I’ve not used a pattern from that company yet.
    I know this sounds obvious but have you compared your body measurements to the size charts provided? The site gives quite detailed instructions on taking your own body measurements. I would say the most important measurements for this pattern would be the bust and waist measurements. And if your hip measurement differs greatly from the one given for the size that matches your bust/waist measurement, it is also the easiest part of the dress to alter to your correct hip size.
    For what it is worth, I still think your first choice of Vogue 1032 is a very beautiful dress. They are both lovely dresses. If you have time to think it over; I’m sure you will make a decision for the best dress for you, for your big day.

  3. Nicky Passmore permalink
    May 8, 2011 11:45 am

    Hi Molly

    We’ve not ‘spoken’ before, but I watch your blog quite often. Another sewing blogger from the UK – Scruffy Badger – has done a post on a pattern which is very similar to Pippa’s dress. It’s Simplicity 2580 and comes as a multi size pattern – Scruffy’s post is at this link in case you find it helpful… http://scruffybadgertime.co.uk/wp/2011/05/am-i-cheating-on-you/

    Good luck with your dress – I think this style would really suit you.

    Nicky

Trackbacks

  1. My Wedding Dress « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

