Skip to content

May BurdaStyle Patterns

April 19, 2011
tags:
by

I love getting my Burda in the mail every month, it’s just so exciting to get patterns in the mail (but really, I like getting anything in the mail). A lot of bloggers seem to be hating Burda for the most part right now, and on some points I agree. I didn’t like it when they condensed the pattern sheets or changed their name or removed the english version of their website. And there are pretty much always some really ugly patterns in each magazine, BUT there are also at least one or two patterns in each magazine that I really like. So the $90 for 12 months adding up to hundreds of useful patterns that fit me really well unaltered, worth it. I’ve gotten used to the annoying things anyways:

  • Google chrome translates the german site for me,
  • they are saving paper and ink by not print so many pages,
  • I’m a good enough seamstress to not need detailed pattern instructions all the time,
  • and I pay ~$4 for one Vogue pattern at the store, so $7.50 for 30 some patterns is just fine by me (even if I do have to put the extra effort to trace in)

So why am I saying all this? Because I just got my May issue of Burda! It’s definitely got some duds in it, but also some I really like and can see myself wearing, so I’ll share both sides.

The GOOD:

Dress 108A is a simple dress, but it has interesting princess lines that arent quite traditional and A-line type skirts look good on me I think. And I know the perfect fabric for it in my stash!

Dress 128, very mad men. I think Id have to modify the back somehow, on the model photo it looked crazy puffy

Dress 122, also very mad men. I would definitely not be adding that strange puff on the hip, and probably add some should straps to make it most versatile for day wear

And now for the BAD:

Dress 135 is supposed to be a plus size pattern. I dont think anyone wants to look like a giant bubble.

Dress 134 is also a plus size pattern. Can you say Flying Squirrel?

Dress 110 doesnt look so bad here, but it looks horrible on the model. The only way your chest can stay in this dress is to wear the extra tube top underneath.

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Toy permalink
    April 19, 2011 3:27 pm

    It’s really hard for me to love burda right now I used to love getting it in the mail but I’m not feeling their designs lately

  2. April 20, 2011 10:13 pm

    wow, those good are really really good but the bad is truly……so bad i’m loving it?! not enough to make them or anything though!

So, what do you think?

