Skip to content

An Incredibly Comfortable Dress

April 16, 2011
tags: ,
by

This is about as far into wearing leggings and a t-shirt out in public, which girls actually do here. But I like covering my butt with more than a tight layer of spandex. I wanted a dress to wear in the winter comfortably, with tights of course that’s why I made it shorter than I normally would because I know I’ll never be showing leg when wearing this dress. And it fits right in with winter here, grey! Actually I really like grey, I’d go so far as to call it my neutral of choice. Basically this dress is incredibly comfortable and minimal so I could pair it with just about anything and it’ll work. Now I just need to find shoes I can where with it, to school and possibly in snow…

Pattern: BurdaStyle Long Shirt 123 1/2011

Fabric: Grey Ponte de Roma Knit from Hancock’s, probably a little stiffer than the pattern intended but it works fine.

Pattern Description: So relaxed, it really is. The long shirt with a boat-neck and narrow sleeves and is easy to figure. Neckline and hem you succeed with the twin needle at best.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn’t bother following them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? When I first saw this pattern in the magazine I didn’t like it. But like a lot of patterns, after a couple more look throughs it looked like a really good basic t-shirt pattern. I tested the pattern out first by recycling an old unloved t-shirt and the fit was great… except I accidentally sewed the sleeves on backward, but I didn’t care that much about it since it was just a test. I really love the end result though, and I have a great t-shirt pattern now!

Pattern Sizing: 36

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I shortened the dress by about 2 inches and took in the side seems to get a more fitted look. I also didn’t follow the directions Burda gave because it’s just a t-shirt. I sewed the shoulder seems, attached the sleeves flat, then sewed the under arm and side seem all in one.

Would you sew it again? Definitely, next time I’ll probably change the neckline shape and shorten it to just a top.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes! It may not be the most interesting design Burda has come up with, but it’s really a great pattern for a basic t-shirt.

I think my eyes are closed in this picture, but its the best picture I had of how Id probably end up wearing it most of the time. Sleeves pushed up with flat shoes

Right now I’m working on a dress that I’ve had fabric for for several years I think, just couldn’t find the right pattern (not that that should matter because I have a crazy amount of this fabric). I’m making V1223 and so far it’s going really well, there are a million pleats made out of chiffon so it’s slow going! I have to baste every dart and pleat before sewing them together which is time consuming and makes me really tired.

Spot is a great help

~Molly

No comments yet

So, what do you think?

