Skip to content

Before the Blog: On the High Seas Shirt

April 1, 2011
tags: ,
by

This is one of my favorite shirts to wear because it’s so comfortable and stylish. At first I wasn’t sure about it because it has absolutely no shape, but now that’s what I like about it. It reminds me of an artist’s smock combined with a sailer’s outfit.

Pattern: BurdaStyle Blouse 102 4/2010

 

Fabric: Cotton shirting

Pattern Description: Our wide, double-breasted blouse that’s fastened with tiny buttons can grant you three wishes: 1) airiness, 2) looking different, and 3) ease of sewing. It’s elbow-length kimono sleeves are rolled up and held in place by tabs.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the design and instructions are very well done in my opinion. Burdastyle pattern instructions can be kindof cryptic sometimes, but this one seemed very good, that or I’m just getting used to the crypticness because I’ve been using them for a little while now.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the tabs and the double breasted front, it makes the shirt very different from anything else I own. I don’t really like that the underarm seam on the sleeve is exposed, but it’s not too noticeable because my arm is in the way most of the time. The shirt is pretty shapeless too, but that’s the style and it’s very comfortable. It would look great tucked into nice slacks or a pencil skirt, and I’ve been toying with the idea of wearing a belt at the waist.

Pattern Sizing: 36-44, I cut a 36

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: None

Would you sew it again? Probably not, just because it’s such a distinct style I don’t think I need two of this shirt.

Would you recommend it to others? Definitely, it’s sooo easy

 

~Molly

No comments yet

So, what do you think?

