Skip to content

Me Made March Week 4

March 27, 2011
tags:
by

Me Made March isn’t over yet, but I’ve been really struggling to keep up with it. I have been wearing at least one me-made item everyday but I can’t always get a picture because I’ve been so busy. This is my last semester as an undergraduate student and I have a full load. I plan on taking a big long break this summer before starting graduate school, but right now I don’t think I’ll be making as much effort to wear something me made everyday.

Spot helping me study

I’ve made a realization though. I have a ton of handmade clothes that I wear all the time, not everyday, but more than a lot of people I see with sewing blogs. It’s just not a challenge for me at all, I’ve always worn homemade clothes. My mom and grandma would make my sister’s and I clothes all the time, and when I learned to sew I made them myself and wore them all from the start. Sewing is nothing new to me (only showing it off on the interwebs is) and wearing my homemade clothes is nothing new. I love the idea of this challenge, but I don’t need it like other people might because through many many years of trial and error, I know what I like, what I will wear, and what I need.

Instead I’m making myself a new challenge – SEW MORE KNITS! I love t-shirts (short and long sleeved) and sweaters, especially for winter, and I don’t have enough that are me made. I’ve got several cut out, one in the process of being cut out, and I’m ready to get cracking…. sometime, I’ll still be really busy for the next 5-6 weeks.

And just so I don’t leave this post with no sewing related pictures, here are the outfits from last week I did manage to photograph:

March 21:

Skirt from McCall's 5591

March 23:

 

Pants from New Look 4237

 

March 24:

 

Ruffly blouse from McCall's 5929

 

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 7:25 pm

    I really like your ruffly blouse and Desert dress from your previous post. I know what you mean about being a little burnt out on MMM. I’ve enjoyed it but I’m ready to stop taking pictures of myself.

Trackbacks

  1. Technicolored Tiger | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

