Skip to content

The Ravenna Dress

March 15, 2011
tags: ,
by

First, I am still wearing me-made clothes and taking pictures everyday, I’ve just gotten bored with posting just one outfit everyday. I don’t think my choices are really that interesting. So I’ve decided to do a weekly post on Sunday, so look forward to that!

I LOVE this fabric,  it’s just cotton but the colors and the print are perfect. I bought it in Seattle last fall when we were visiting friends. I thought about calling this the Seattle dress, but it doesn’t really remind me of Seattle at all (the other cotton I bought there really does, but it’s no where near the top of my queue). Instead the modern flower pattern and color scheme remind me of when I was little spending summer evenings at my grandparent’s farm in rural Nebraska, near the small town of Ranenna. Some of my fondest memories are from then, running around they’re huge yard, playing with the semi-wild farm cats, my grandma’s extensive gardens.

Photos from the farm taken by my amateur photographer Grandpa, he won an award for the top one.

 

Pattern: Vogue 1086 by Tracy Reese

Fabric: Cotton bought on a trip to Seattle, WA

Pattern Description: Slightly flared dress, mid-knee, has princess seams, very loose-fitting bodice with yokes, forming cap sleeves, above waist midriff and left side zipper closure.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Basically, yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

Side view, the arm holes are kindof deep

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I really like the style with all the gathers, it makes it very comfortable. And I pretty much always like cap sleeves. The neckline is very open and wide though.

Pattern Sizing: 8-16, I cut a 10

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I did not use French seems like the instructions wanted because they always confuse me and I’m just using cotton so it’s not really necessary. I also didn’t put in a zipper. I tried it on basted right before I was supposed to insert the zip and it went on just fine, it’s a tiny bit big but that will make it more comfortable for hot summer days. Besides I didn’t have a zipper on hand that would have worked lol

Would you sew it again? No, only because it’s a pretty distinct design and I don’t really need two.

I had to show this picture too, there is so much sun today that I had a hard time getting clear pictures! I look like a ghost haha

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I think it’s really stylish and easy.

Conclusion: Yay for new cotton dresses!

~Molly

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 10:26 pm

    Your new dress is just beautiful, and it’s wonderful to have a lovely print like this one that can evoke happy memories for you!

  2. March 15, 2011 11:13 pm

    I have this pattern and have been wanting to try it . Love the fabric. I saw it on Burdastyle. Does the pattern run big?

    • March 16, 2011 6:58 am

      I suppose it does run just a little big, but I also think if I’d put the zipper in that might have made it a little tighter

  3. March 16, 2011 3:19 am

    wow, lovely dress Molly, the print works out really well – nice and large on the skirt and then looking smaller in the gathers on top 🙂

    very cool wing mirror pic!

  4. March 16, 2011 2:51 pm

    Gorgeous dress!

  5. March 18, 2011 6:14 pm

    Such a pretty dress, and I love the name. I agree with you, dressing well shows a respect for shared public space. 🙂 Nice blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Cross Stitching Takes Forever | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

