Skip to content

Half Wrap Top

March 8, 2011

I don’t think I’ll be leaving the apartment much today see as how it’s still snowing. I might take off the belt for ultimate comfort 😉

Butterick 5218

 

 

And I finished a new top last night as I continue to tests out  knit top patterns. I’m not convinced I like this one a lot yet.

Pattern: Simplicity 2369

Fabric: Polyester lacy knit, I say it’s lacy because it’s got holes in it like lace does, but all of the flowers are solid.

Pattern Description: Misses’ knit dress in two lengths or tunic and pants sewing pattern.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s a pretty knit top and it’s comfortable. I’m not sure I like how wide the sleeves are because that might end up bothering me, and I feel like the neckline should be lower but that might be because the fabric I used is more stable than a soft jersey. It looks like the neckline is lower on the model photos too. Not that anyone would know this while I’m wearing the top, but it’s almost like a maternity/nursing top because if the wrap over piece wasn’t there, the shirt would only cover one side of my chest:

Pattern Sizing: 8-24, I cut a 10

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: None

Would you sew it again? Maybe, but not anytime soon

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, It’s a pretty easy top and would look good on a lot of body types.

Conclusion: It’s an ok top and I will wear it but I’m not head over heels about it.

 

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. debbie permalink
    March 8, 2011 9:03 am

    I enjoy reading your blog–hope you don’t mind. I think the top is very pretty as are the rest of the garments you have sewn. It is nice to see a young woman sewing her clothes–I made sure my daughter learned to sew. I’ll bet your Mom and Dad are very, very proud of you.

    Sincerely,

    Debbie Gaddis, Granny and Mom

  2. March 8, 2011 11:12 pm

    Well, I think it is super cute. It looks very pretty belted up.
    Thanks for your comment, (about commenting, lol!) There are no rules, of course, just go with what you want to do!

Trackbacks

  1. May 6 – 13, In a Rainbow (mostly) « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

