Skip to content

Before the Blog: It’s a Wrap Dress!

March 7, 2011
by

This is one of my all time favorite dresses and since I’m wearing it today, I figure it would be good day to post my review of the pattern I did last year.

Pattern Description: Wrap front dress has soft pleats, side tie, and sleeve variations. Dress B has collar.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, maybe a little tighter than it looked on the girls in the drawing.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, like all Big 4 patterns it had plenty of drawings along with the instructions

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that it’s really easy to sew and knits aren’t always easy. It’s very comfortable and everything seems like it will stay in place, wardrobe malfunctions are defiantly not needed.

Pattern Sizing: 8-14, I cut a 10

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I made half sleeves instead of ¾ length and didn’t use the sleeve cuff. I also didn’t hem the bottom because knits don’t unravel and it would probably look bad just because my fabric is on the thicker side. I might cut it shorter at some point, but for a winter dress I kindof like the length.

Would you sew it again? If I ever have time, I really like this dress and it’s so basic I don’t think you could have enough of them!

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I think it would flatter all body types and its really easy.

 

~Molly

So, what do you think?

