Skip to content

The Kimono Blouse

March 5, 2011
by

This is my second make of this pattern, but unfortunately the thin polyester fabric wasn’t strong enough to handle my rough treatment. For garments like this casual blouse, I expect my clothes to hold up to everyday wear and tear. This is also what I’m wearing today.

Pattern: Burda Magazine 113 10/2008

Fabric: Hancock’s “ethnic” printed light weight cotton, perfect for spring once it gets here. I put ethnic in quotations because I think it’s really stupid that they actually label a section of fabric as ethnic, what does that mean?!

Pattern Description: The sporty shirt blouse in sophisticated! The pattern and waist give it feminine flair, the wide, by locking gathered raglan sleeves make it transparent. Real style combination partner à la Seventies are the new jeans with flared legs.

I love love love these buttons. They're from the my granma's button stash that I inherited along with all the rest of her sewing things when she passed.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? As always with Burda patterns, the instructions were pretty bare but I’ve been getting used to them over the last few years. So when it tells me to simply attach the collar and collar band with no further details, I can actually do just that no problem.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? This blouse is the perfect fit for me, and the kimono/raglan sleeves make it so easy and comfortable to wear.

Pattern Sizing: 36-44, I traced a 36 as I always do for tops.

 

I had major issues with the light trying to photograph today

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I didn’t make the sleeve tabs because I just didn’t feel like it, I’ll just roll my sleeves up.

Would you sew it again? Yes

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, but I don’t know anywhere you can get back issues of Burda Magazine other than eBay.

Conclusion: Of all the button up shirt patterns I’ve tried this is by far my favorite because of how casual it looks with jeans or dressy when tucked in to a skirt.

 

~Molly

No comments yet

So, what do you think?

