Skip to content

First Pendrell

March 3, 2011

First, the daily outfit pic. The sun is shining today and it’s supposed to get up to 40F!!!! So I pulled out one of my favorite skirts of all time made from Simplicity 2758. I think of this skirt as a jeans alternative because it’s made of denim so it goes with nearly everything.

Next, I tried out a new pattern:

I didn’t follow the Sewaholic Pendrell sew-along, but I definitely wanted to try the pattern out because I’ve had it since it first came out.

 

please excuse the fuzzy pictures, it's more difficult to photograph clothing in the winter

Pattern: Sewaholic 1001 Pendrell blouse

Fabric: Cotton, I wasn’t too excited about this fabric and needed something to use to test out the new pattern. Turns out this cotton doesn’t have enough drape for the sleeves because I don’t like how they stick out so far. But I’m not upset about it because I don’t care really about the fabric, and I’ll probably still wear it once in a while.

Pattern Description: Semi-fitted pullover blouse has princess seams and bias binding at neck and armhole. View A has softly draped pleated sleeves set into princess seams. View B has ruffled cap sleeves and ruffles set into princess seams. View C is sleeveless.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were very good, I like how they suggest to finish sleeve binding before sewing up the side seems because that’s how I usually do it anyways. Most pattern companies have you do all the edge finishing after sewing up the sides, making it more difficult to sew in the round.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the fit, which I was worried about. I’m not so fond of any of the sleeve variations, but view A could work better with a really drapey fabric.

Pattern Sizing: 0-16, I traced out a 4 because I was unsure which size would be best and didn’t want to ruin a pattern I’d spent more than $0.99 on. According to the body measurements I should have cut size 6, but I looked also at the finished measurements that seemed really really big. It’s supposed to be loose fitting so you can put it on without a closure, so I chose a size in the middle. Turned out great too, I love the fit!

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: None

Would you sew it again? Yes, but without the sleeves because the fit by itself is great it would make a really nice shell top.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes

Conclusion: This version isn’t the greatest, but I’m confident that next time I make it I’ll like it a lot more.

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 6:28 am

    Well I love this top on you, it looks really great! Thank you for the great review!

  2. Jill permalink
    March 7, 2011 12:40 pm

    Your version looks really good! I made a 6 in this one (which is according to my measurements as well) and it turned out HUGE! I’m still trying to decide if i can take it in a bit but i also traced the pattern so I’ll try it in a 4 too.

Trackbacks

  1. May 6 – 13, In a Rainbow (mostly) « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

