Skip to content

Elegant T

February 28, 2011

Since I basically live in t-shirts and jeans, I decided I should start making some of my own. I like knit tops in general because they’re really comfortable and at the same time can look very elegant.

Pattern: Butterick 5495

Fabric: Jersey interlock with a lot of drape.

Pattern Description: Loose-fitting tops A, B, C, D with front drape gathered into loop, dropped shoulder, seam details and stitched hems. A, B: sleeveless. C, D: short or long kimono type sleeves.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Mostly, I think the neckline is a lot lower in real life than what you see in the cover art.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy instructions. I made it harder on myself by picking black for something I’ve never made before and that has some oddly shaped pattern pieces, it was hard to see at times.

 

Lighted up a lot so you can see the front gathers

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that it’s a cute knit top with some really interesting details and even though it’s a gathered umpire waist, it doesn’t make me look prego – because I’m not.

Pattern Sizing: 8-14, I cut my usual size 10.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I tacked the neckline together higher up because it a) didn’t seem very well finished and b) was way way too low.

Would you sew it again? Yes

Would you recommend it to others? Yes

Conclusion: I can’t wait the wear it during MMMarch!

~Molly

So, what do you think?

