Skip to content

Continuum Dress

February 26, 2011
tags: , ,
by

Another 2 inches of snow last night, I’m starting to worry I don’t have enough me-made long sleeve T’s for MMMarch.

I’m definitely on a roll this month, but I also made a point to cut out a bunch of relatively easy projects after the shirt dress. This one I see as the perfect basic jumper, I’ve wanted to make this dress for quite a while and it definitely lives up to my vision. I named it the Continuum Dress because the print reminds me of something you’d see in Star Trek when they travel though time (a time space continuum, yes I am a Trekkie) and I have a feeling I’ll be wearing this continuously haha!

Pattern: Vogue 8571

Fabric: Ponte de Roma from Hancock’s. This knit is thick and soft so I can wear it right away even with -2F!

Pattern Description: Pullover dresses A, B in two lengths have bodice front and back gathers, self-faced neck band and flared skirt. A: length is mid-knee. B: length is mid-calf.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, I didn’t expect the back to be so puffy but after ironing it went down. I like the volume on top more and more.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Incredibly easy should be the pattern rating! I didn’t really read the instructions because the illustrations were very straight forward.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s interesting but basic enough to be a really good staple and I can definitely see more versions coming.

Pattern Sizing: 8-14, I cut my usual size 10. I had to take in the sides by ½ inch each. I’m not sure it that’s because the patter runs large or because of the knit fabric but it didn’t seem to me like the fabric stretched at all.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: Increased side seam allowance.

Would you sew it again? Yes, I really want to make some solid colored versions like the dark read and cream colors in the cover art (I know, so original).

Would you recommend it to others? Yes

Conclusion: Great basic that I foresee wearing a lot, once I figure out which long sleeve shirt, tights and shoes to wear underneath.

 

The parting shot should always be slightly goofy 🙂

~Molly

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. March 6, 2011 « Toferet

So, what do you think?

