Skip to content

Fast Turnaround Dress

February 24, 2011
tags: ,
by

This dress is always a quick turnaround. I’ve made it once before and it is my favorite summer dress for really hot days, and I think it makes me look really good which is funny because I’m not a super girly girl. This dress is very girly but again, when it’s 90+ degrees outside (F) it’s the best thing ever. Now I just need the weather to cooperate and rise above 5F and stop snowing.

It's snowing outside right now so I figured it was appropriate to wear rain boots

 

Pattern: Vogue 8380 View A. It seems like a lot more people have made view B, but I feel like it would have too high a neck line for me.

Fabric: Cotton

Pattern Description: Mid-knee length dress has casing and tie variation, upper and lower sections gathered into waist inset, side zipper.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes. I’ve made this once before so I didn’t need to read the instructions, just the illustrations.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that it has a breezy skirt and is fitted on top to look cute. My perfect summer dress.

Pattern Sizing: 4-10, I made my standard 10 with no alterations. A note on the fit of this dress, the top has very little ease and is almost hard to get the zip past my ribs but once it’s on it feels great.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: None

Would you sew it again? Maybe, I have two of this dress now so it’s not like I really need another. But I might use it for my Fourth of July dress.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes!

Conclusion: Love it.

I also have some exciting news, for me at least because unless you’re an engineer this probably won’t mean much. I’ve been inducted into the Order of the Engineer, that means I’m graduating in May!!! Now I have a tiny stainless steel ring to wear on the fifth finger of my working hand (my right pinky finger) as a symbol of my commitment to helping to improve the world around us through engineering. YEAY!!!!

~Molly

No comments yet

So, what do you think?

