Skip to content

FP: THE Shirtdress

February 21, 2011
by

Finally! A finished dress to show off. It took a while to make only because of school and I get lazy with my free time. But it payed off to go slow and iron all the time because it turned out great!

 

 

Pattern: Butterick 3126

Fabric: Floral printed Linen blend
Pattern Description: Semi-fitted, A-line dress, gathered and pleated into waistline seam and yoke, has front button tab closing, pointed shirt collar on band, back bodice pleats, above-elbow-length sleeves gathered at cap with turned-up cuffs, patch pockets, and topstitch trim. Self belt has button closing and topstitch trim.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

 

 

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, but I only glanced at them while I was making the dress to make sure I got the details right. The only confusing part was getting the button placket on correct, I had to ripe it out a couple times.

 

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love fit and the great classic shirt dress feel to it, the pattern is from the 70s I think (there’s no date) but it also has a 40s feel to it. I love the matching belt too. Next time I make it I will definitely be changing the collar because it is huge. Even the collar stand feels giant because the actual neck line is so high. But I don’t foresee that as being hard to change.

 


Pattern Sizing: Size 8, Bust 31.5 inches

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: No alterations, I did sew the whole dress flat and then sewed up the side seems including the sleeves so I didn’t have to worry about easing the super puffy sleeve cap.
Would you sew it again? Yes, I think I’ve found my favorite shirt dress pattern ever and I’ve been looking for a while now! But as I said before the collar will definitely change to make it more modern.

Would you recommend it to others? I would, except it’s a vintage pattern so it would be hard for a lot of people to get probably.

 

 

Conclusion: Awesome.

 

Random Side Note: Did you know Hancock’s now sells Burda envelope patterns? I was really surprised when I went to get the new vogues on sale. There were some really cute designs but I didn’t get any because a) I’m on a budget and b) I could not find the price for the life of me.

~Molly

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 4, 2012 8:30 pm

    I love this dress on you! The style and fit are great. Congrats! : )

So, what do you think?

