Skip to content

Before the Blog: A Picnic in Wisconsin Dress

January 25, 2011
tags: ,
by

I’ve had the Macaron dress pattern from Colette for a while now, not sure what fabric would be right for it. I wanted to get it right because the pattern was kindof a splurge for me because I’m used to getting the Big 4 patterns for cheap at Hancocks. This fabric combo was inspired by The Sew Convert’s Picnic Macaron Dress. I wore it at my family reunion in Wisconsin for the first time, and it sparked a conversation about clothing sizing in the fashion industry of all things!

 


Pattern: Colette Patterns – Macaron No. 1001

Fabric: White swiss dot, black/gray/white plaid seersucker

Pattern Description: A flattering and curvy dress. Includes a bodice fitted with darts, along with a contrasting top yoke, sleeves, and narrow midriff band. Short sleeves are gently scalloped along the sleeve hem, echoing the shape of the bodice. Skirt has large pleats, with pockets hidden in the front pleats. Closes with an invisible side zipper

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, even better then the drawing in my opinion

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, there were really nice illustrations for just about every step. I didn’t read the instructions too closely but the pattern is pretty straight forward

 

Me and my sister, I made her dress aswell

 

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the pockets and how they are sortof hidden in the front pleats of the skirt. But like other sewers have mentioned, this pattern has very little ease so the midriff is very tight and I need to go back in and make the seam allowance smaller.

Pattern Sizing: Multi-sized from 0 to 18, I cut a 0 because of my bust measurement but I should have looked a little more closely at my waist measurement too. If I wasn’t so lazy I would go back in and let the waist band out a little, but that probably won’t happen for a while, next time I make the dress I’ll definitely do it though.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: The only think I changed was to not do an invisible zipper, I don’t see much point in an invisible zipper when it’s hiding under the sleeve already.

Would you sew it again? Yes, I love it!

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, there are so many variations and fabric combinations you can do!

 

~Molly

No comments yet

So, what do you think?

