Skip to content

Not Quite a T-shirt

January 9, 2011

In my informal quest to wear more of the clothes I make, I realized during Self Stitched September last year that I  liked wearing t-shirts and jeans a lot. So I started making more t-shirts and “t-shirt alternatives.” One of my favorite “t-shirt alternative” patterns I’ve found is this semi-fitted woven blouse, New Look 6808. You’ll have to excuse the temperamental lighting for a couple more months because it’s just too cold and snowy to go outside.

Fabric: Left over cotton from other projects.

Pattern Description: Misses easy tops.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, just like the simple description it’s a very easy top to make.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that it’s so simple and could possibly be changed very easily to make it different. It’s supposed to be semi-fitted, which I like, but I think I should try a little sway back adjustment next time.

Pattern Sizing: 8-18, I cut a straight 10

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I’ve found that I can squeeze this top out of 1 yard of fabric if I add a seam down the back so it’s become the ultimate scrap busting top for me. I also chucked the facings after the first time I made this top because they would just creep up and out of the neckline. Bias binding is much cleaner.

Would you sew it again? Um, I already have… I’m working on another made of seersucker right now and I have a silk one cut out. Oh and this one I’m picturing here is my third.

Would you recommend it to others? Absolutely! It’s so simple and basic, everyone should have one because they can change it and make it completely unique.

 

And a on a completely different note, check out the worst example of scamming poor students with textbooks:

Completely blank! damnit

 

~Molly

So, what do you think?

