Skip to content

Before the Blog: The Cardigan Effect

January 4, 2011
by

Before the Blog is a series about projects I really love that I made and posted on BurdaStyle before I started this blog.



Fabric: Jersey and Cotton. I had a hard time deciding what to do with this fabric because it is the perfect medium weight for just about anything and so soft! I was able to squish the pieces enough that I will be able to get a T-shirt out of the jersey also.

Pattern Description: McCall’s 3588 (OPP) Lined jacket has collar, princess seams and sleeve variations, jacket E has contrast collar.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, I was intimidated at first about making this jacket after I cut it out but once I started it was all fine. I think I just underestimate myself sometimes with sewing.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Obviously this pattern is meant for woven fabric but I used a stretch for more of a tailored cardigan effect, so the jacket could probably have been cut a size smaller to be a tighter fit. But it’s really comfortable and this is my favorite color for jackets, my perfect neutral! Oh, and I love my lining with little ballerinas

Pattern Sizing: 10-16, I cut a 10

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I attached the sleeve lining a little differently than the instructions just to make sure none of lining showed on the sleeve edge. After attaching the main lining with the compete outer shell, I machine sewed the bottom of the sleeve to the bottom of the sleeve lining to make a clean hem. Then I hand stitched the lining to the inside sleeve cap.

Would you sew it again? It’s a great basic jacket, but I have other jacket patterns that I want to try out too before I call this a TNT.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, as far as jackets go, this is fairly easy and a good fit.

~Molly

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 1:54 am

    I like knits used in unexpected ways. What fun!

So, what do you think?

