Skip to content

Finished Project: Halloween 2010

January 3, 2011
by

Finished Project or the FP series is how I will be formally introducing my creations to the world, basically just a pattern review modeled mostly off the actual Pattern Review. Since I mentioned in my last post my awesome Halloween costume that was not pictured in BurdaStyle’s Halloween contest, I figured I could just post about it here to prove that it indeed is quite awesome.

Halloween costume 2010

I really loved the TV show Lost that just ended earlier this year so I decided, while it was still culturally relevant here in the US, to dress up as a member of the Dharma Initiative for Halloween. And as a bonus, making a coverall for my Halloween costume means I won’t get cold like all the girls that will dress up as “slutty ____.” I really love making costumes of my favorite TV or movie characters, if only there were more opportunities to wear them.

Pattern: Kwik Sew 3389

Fabric: Khaki cotton twill

Pattern Description: The Men’s Coveralls are designed for medium to heavyweight woven fabrics. We suggest denim, twill, poplin, chino. The Men’s coveralls are sized to be worn over clothes. They have extended shoulders, hidden front zipper and snap at top, inset waistband, tucks on the back, yoke, collar, side pockets, breast and back patch pockets, and side slits to access inside pockets. View A has full-length sleeves, and View B has short sleeves.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except for the Dharma Initiative patch of course.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the instructions were very clear and over all the whole thing was super easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like how this coverall looks so much like a mechanics uniform, because that is how the jumpsuits always looked in the TV show. All the little details really make this patter special with the top stitching and pockets.

Pattern Sizing: S-XXL, I cut a small for myself which is still way too big, but it is a men’s pattern. I also made a medium so my boyfriend could match me, but he refuses to let me put pictures of it anywhere on the internet – so you’ll just have to take my word for it that he looks super cute.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: The only alterations I made were to add the patch and name tag.

Would you sew it again? Probably not, how often do you need a work coverall? I made sure the sizes I made would fit my sister and her husband also for Halloween next year so no one will have to make them again. Halloween recycling at it’s best!

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, for a costume or a mechanics jumpsuit, it’s a really well drafted pattern.

And as a parting shot: me being goofy

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 9:30 pm

    Great costume! I like how you decided not to dress all skimpy. We don’t do Halloween here in Australia, but from what I’ve seen on movies and TV shows Halloween comes across as a nationwide come-as-whatever costume party.

  2. January 5, 2011 6:52 am

    That’s basically what it is for adults, for kids it’s just about getting tons of candy. I just love that it gives me an excused to dress up like a sci-fi nerd!

So, what do you think?

