Skip to content

New Year New Blog

January 2, 2011
tags:
by

No longer a S.W.O.B.

I’m starting this blog as just a way to interact better with the online sewing community that I’ve been following for over a year and a half. I’ve slowly become fed up with BurdaStyle mostly because there isn’t enough structure in the posting guidelines, but also because they don’t actually include everyone in things such as contests. I had tried to enter the Halloween 2010 contest and thought I had a pretty awesome Dharma Initiative jumpsuit costume, but then when the slide show of entries was posted I wasn’t in it. I complained and the only explanation I got was that it was easier for them to limit the number of participants.

Anyways, this blog is about sewing and that is all I plan on posting here. I’ve been sewing most all of my 22 years. My mom and grandma taught me technical stuff like using the sewing machine, inserting a zipper, setting a sleeve, etc. They liked to do things the quick and dirty way, so I’ve just recently been “cleaning up my act.”

I should have some new projects to share with you soon so stay tuned, and if I don’t I might post some old projects that I especially like. I’m a college student, graduating in May, so there might be some times when I’m unable to post but I know you’ll stick with me 😉

~Molly

(Just so I don’t start this blog off on the wrong foot without a graphic)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. cidell permalink
    January 3, 2011 6:04 am

    Welcome to the blogosphere! I haven’t spent much time on Burdastyle. I think I’m out of their demographic and I happily accept that 🙂

    • January 3, 2011 6:32 am

      Thanks! I wasn’t expecting to get any comments for maybe months until I could really get my blogging grove going, you have no idea how excited I am.

  2. January 7, 2011 3:29 pm

    urgh what an unfair way to run a competition.
    i have a much neglected burda profile, that i attempted to resurrect after SSS, didn’t work – its still as neglected as ever…
    but now i have an extra sewing blog to add to my distractions – yay!!

    • January 7, 2011 3:43 pm

      Thanks! I’m happy to be your distraction haha

Trackbacks

  1. Four Years | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

