Skip to content

A Tribute Banner

August 18, 2014

One of Pedro’s favorite TV shows is Murder, She Wrote (MSW), a detective series from the 80s and 90s starting Angela Lansbury.  We watched a lot of that type of show growing up because Bia has always been into mystery story lines.  Like most things I make for Pedro, I’m not really sure how the idea got started, but once it was there I couldn’t not make an attempt at it.  In this case, an embroidered portrait of Angela Lansbury as Jessica Fletcher (the main character of MSW) done somewhat in a style you sometimes see on posters for political figures or dictators.

I didn’t free hand draw the outline of Jessica, I just found a picture of her I liked and put a piece of paper on my computer screen and traced it.  Then outlined it in marker and scanned it in so I could make it giant.  So this:

Became this:

JessicaFletcher_bw

Which then turned into this:

JBFletcher (16)

And finally, this:JBFletcher (11)

It was raining so I had to use indoor lights, and the red is hard to photograph in the first place.  I used a red cotton sateen and some pre-made blanket binding in an appropriately bloody color (it’s probably supposed to be tie-dye…).  The bottom edges got stretched out over time because they’re cut on an angle, next time I make something with this shape I’ll probably try to piece the fabric so it’s easier to handle.  At first I was going to do a flag, but then I came across this wall hanging on etsy and knew I had to make a banner instead.  The proportions of mine aren’t quite how I wanted, it seems too wide, but this is for Pedro so I don’t really care.

Here are some close ups:

JBFletcher (8)

JBFletcher (10)

JBFletcher (9)

And if anyone out there is also a die hard MSW fan, you can download the 8.5″ x 11″ pattern here and the larger 20″ x 24″ pattern here.

I don’t fell like I put a ton of effort into the random patterns that I make so I give them for free, but still please link back to me and share if you make something from my patterns!

and last but not least a photo bomb by Mr. Husband...

and last but not least a photo bomb by Mr. Husband…

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2014 10:36 am

    Ha! I loved Murder She Wrote, that is so awesome

  2. Kelly permalink
    August 18, 2014 9:03 pm

    Super cute and fun! (Maybe my kids will want one with Castle in20 years)

  3. August 22, 2014 1:10 pm

    Really beautifully done!!

  4. September 4, 2014 5:48 pm

    This is fabulous! It looks just like her.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

