Skip to content

Gabriola Island

February 25, 2014

I got to be a pattern tester for Sewaholic’s latest pattern the Gabriola (GABE-ree-ola) skirt! I didn’t really have enough time, but I’m never going to have more time so I’m happy I did it. Having a deadline that actually mattered to someone else gave me more motivation. This is a super cool skirt anyways, I have never owned a maxi skirt (beyond a couple formal dresses) and I’m still not sure if the style is me (I can’t exactly wear a sweeping rayon maxi skirt with 2-3 feet of standing snow on the ground), but I can always cut it off (I actually never hemmed it for that reason…).

blackgabriola-5

Excuse the wrinkles and folds, it’s been folded up in a drawer for a while and rayon creases like nobody’s business

Pattern: Sewaholic 1401 Gabriola Skirt

Fabric: Black rayon. I was heavily influenced by one of the sample photos Tasia sent the other pattern testers and I, she just looked so sleek in the black version I couldn’t resist. I personally think this skirt shines in solid colors.

blackgabriola-1

Design Likes/Dislikes: Since I was a pattern tester, the version of the pattern I have wasn’t a final product so I hope a few things have changed since then because I had a hell of a time getting all the panels to fit into a neat point in the front – they just didn’t fit! The waistband instructions were lacking too, I ripped my waist band completely off and redid it.

blackgabriola-3

That said, I still think this is a super awesome skirt. The panels hug my hips and the flair of the skirt is dramatic in motion. At knee length I could see owning 5 more of these skirts in every color. And the panels could be in different colors or have a trim between them to make the lines pop.

Sizing and Fit: I made a size 4 and I think the fit is pretty good. The skirt sits at my natural waist and the side panels fit very well, no fiddling with the side seams at all. I cut a couple inches off the bottom.

Spot got real interested in the hanging threads (since it's not hemmed yet)

Spot got real interested in the hanging threads (since it’s not hemmed yet)

blackgabriola-4

Changes: None

For Next Time: Piping or a bright color like blue or green.

blackgabriola-6

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    February 25, 2014 7:57 am

    I like it alot. It looks comfortable and stylish. I may have to get the pattern, when the bugs are worked out.

    • February 25, 2014 8:09 am

      Well I hope the bugs are already worked out since the pattern went up for sale yesterday, but I was thinking about buying it also so I could have the finished version of the pattern

  2. Bev permalink
    February 25, 2014 8:34 am

    Not a fan of maxi skirts but this one is super cute. And it fits you like a glove. Love it!

  3. February 26, 2014 9:36 pm

    Pretty! Love the fitted waist/hip.

  4. March 6, 2014 8:57 am

    Pretty! You are right love the classic black!

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

