Skip to content

Double Redux

June 4, 2013

This is not only a pattern rehash, but a fabric one as well! The pattern: Cake’s Tiramisu with the skirt cut shorter, previously made in dress format. The fabric: purple and silver striped jersey leftover from the top I made my Oldest Sister for christmukkah. I’m pretty sure the only reason this got made so quickly is because I wanted to pass the pattern off to my mom, Bia, so she could make it and I’ll be visiting soon. Also I started planning a lot of new projects by pairing stash fabric and pattern together over Memorial day weekend, I had time on my hands. Then, poof! Tira-top!

I even got Mr. Husband to take a couple pictures while we were at the park!

I even got Mr. Husband to take a couple pictures while we were at the park!

I probably don’t really need to review this again, but you can just scroll through the pictures (that’s what I do a lot anyways. I don’t judge if you don’t).

Pattern: Cake Patterns Tiramisu #0144

Pattern Description: Knit knee-length dress with front surplice (mock wrap) neckline, short kimono sleeves and an easily customizable midriff section. The skirt features in-seam pockets and falls in the soft folds of a vintage half-circle skirt. The pattern includes optional stripes placement guide, cup sizing A-D and a bust alteration line.

Pattern Sizing: Just like last time I used a 30″ bust, C cup, and 27.5″ waist. Worked out even better because my fabric is more stable this time around.

Fabric Used: Leftover purple and silver striped jersey

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? The top portion looks just like the envelope, obviously I didn’t make a dress though.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, I really like Steph’s instruction style – neatly layed out and clear graphics (or maybe this is Mikhela’s style since she does the instructions?).

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the binding and great fit, and circle skirts are the best. The stripe alignment lines on the pattern pieces is pretty genius. I think the waist band could be reduced in width some, but I don’t care enough to change it (i.e. lazy). Really, there isn’t much to dislike about this pattern because it’s so casual and modern. It’s not an unusual design but it’s extremely well drafted and organized at the same time so it’s more than just ordinary. If that makes any sense.

Most amazing stripe matching ever? yes, yes it is.

Most amazing stripe matching ever? yes, yes it is.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Isn’t it obvious by now? I made a top instead of a dress. All I did to modify the pattern was retrace the skirt, but measured 12″ down from the top of the pattern piece all around. Once I was to the point of hemming I tried it on again and decided to cut 4″ off the bottom, I think I could have cut off only 3.5″ though. When I showed it to Mr. Husband he was so convinced it was just a little too short that he had me raise my arms up to see if it would show my tummy. It did not, and I’m pretty sure that’s due to the great fit on top (and the stretch). But he’s right, 0.5″ more would make it just a little better. Oh well. Next time.

A down side to peplum tops is when it's windy, thinks start flipping all over the place!

A down side to peplum tops is when it’s windy, things start flipping all over the place!

Would you sew it again? Um, duh. I want to do a long sleeve version (top and dress, please)

Would you recommend it to others? Yes! Everyone loves cake in some form or another, or they will once they try it.

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2013 4:52 pm

    oh wow love it as a top!!! also nice chevroning action :-)

  2. June 4, 2013 5:49 pm

    That’s a very cute shirt!

  3. June 5, 2013 9:48 am

    Very nice!

  4. June 5, 2013 2:18 pm

    I’ve got a Tiramisu on it’s way and striped fabric put aside for it! I love your stripe placement, very careful alignment, looks great as a top, well done :)

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

