Skip to content

The Great Zipper Delay

May 29, 2013
tags: ,
by

I think I know what’s going on here: I’ve subconsciously decided that I need to sew as much of my stash as possible before someone hires me to do actual work. I realized this when, for the third day in a row, I was on track (and still motivated) to finish another project in one day. Only I didn’t finish this time because of The Great Zipper Delay, subtitle: I didn’t have one to match! And because I wanted to wait for the Memorial Day sale at Hancocks I stubbornly waited some 36 hours to continue stitching. It was horrible guys, I felt like I was counting down til the store opened Monday morning (I know, zippers are not expensive [not that Hancock's stocks super amazing ones] but everything I wanted to stock up on was on sale that day and I definitely didn’t want to go back two days in a row. Awkward).

zipperdelay-1

Then, zipper in hand finally, in my head I was pretty much thinking “MUST FINISH SKIRT NOW.”

My assistant, Spot

My assistant, Spot

And I did.

Pattern: V1247 by Rachel Comey (skirt only)

Pattern Description: Semi-fitted A-lined skirt has front in-seam pockets.

Pattern Sizing: 6-18, I cut a 12. I’ve come to the decision that, even though I fit a size 10 skirt, it’s just not comfortable and I don’t really care for skirts that constrict my waist. Using size 12 for skirts with straight waistbands like this isn’t a perfect solution because it messes up the fit some, but whatever, this feels better.

Fabric Used: Stretch polyester suiting. The stretch makes the skirt really comfortable, but it also wonked up the pocket openings a little so they don’t look as neat as they could.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Mostly, you can’t see the skirt too well in the photo and I made a few modifications.

zipperdelay-3

zipperdelay-4

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, I got a little confused on the pocket area but it worked out ok.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The front pockets are fun and unique, and the a-line shape is flattering, but I really wish it had a curved waistband. I’m not sure if I liked or disliked all the binding on the inside. It definitely makes the skirt nicer, but all my binding is a little wavy because I don’t do this very often. It also made some seams super bulky.

I even took the time (and pain) to catch stitch both the hem and waist band so that I wouldn't loose any stretch.

I even took the time (and pain) to catch stitch both the hem and waist band so that I wouldn’t loose any stretch.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I added an extra band of fabric at the bottom to lengthen the skirt by about 2.5″. With the other seam lines crossing the skirt, my addition actually looks like it’s meant to be there too.

This is how I'll normally wear the skirt. I just tucked my shirt in for the other pictures so you could see the skirt in full.

This is how I’ll normally wear the skirt. I just tucked my shirt in for the other pictures so you could see the skirt in full.

Would you sew it again? Doubt it, the pockets are cool and could be reused somewhere, but I already have more skirts than I need and I wasn’t floored by this one.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, except for the length I think a lot of people will like this skirt (and do like it, by the number of reviews on PR).

Sometimes I think she just likes getting her picture taken.

Sometimes I think she just likes getting her picture taken.

~Molly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2013 6:46 am

    I love this skirt pattern, I’ve made it for times. I love it in denim!

  2. May 29, 2013 7:50 am

    I just finished the top (from this pattern) and do want to make the skirt as well. I really like how you added the band on the bottom – great idea making the skirt a tad longer. Your skirt looks great and I really like the color of the fabric.

  3. May 29, 2013 2:06 pm

    Love your colourful seam binding. It’s a great skirt. I’m about to sew up my 3rd!

  4. Barbara J permalink
    May 29, 2013 7:19 pm

    Completely agree with you about the waistband feeling constricting. I solved that by taking off the band and replacing it with a facing. It was so much more comfortable that I made a second one. That one featured a full lining instead of a facing and it’s great. That’s a solution that might allow you to sew one that fits better.

  5. May 29, 2013 8:36 pm

    Nice save on the skirt length. It’s super cute – and it’s non-boring neutral, too!

Trackbacks

  1. Double Redux | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

