Skip to content

Miracles all around

April 19, 2013

I made tiramisu! Not the cake, the dress. Duh

Anyways, back story time: Last fall when Steph C announced her new pattern company Cake Patterns, she asked for pattern testers for her first design, Tiramisu, and picked me! I had fabric picked and was all ready to jump into sewing it, even at the expense of my queue, but technical difficulties meant the pattern testers got their patterns at the same time as everyone else. Steph, being a super nice person, sent the pattern to us for free even though we weren’t really testing it for her anymore. But that was months later (it might not have been months, but it felt like it) and I was suddenly too busy to sew anything. And now, another few months later, I’ve finally got my free time back (and it feels amazing to not be constantly stressed!) so I got to sewing.

A nice cat butt photo bomb for you

A nice cat butt photo bomb for you

Now the miracles mentioned above, 1. this dress is seriously amazing (we will talk about that more below) 2. while sewing my bobbin and top spool threads ran out at the exact same time (definitely once in a life time) and 3. right after finishing the dress, the skies opened up and dumped 2 feet of snow on Rapid City and we didn’t have school or work for 2 days (the snow wasn’t so awesome because it had been in the high 60s just the week before, so I couldn’t wear the pretty new dress). I’m calling it a miracle.

The snow is above my calves in this picture

The snow is above my calves in this picture

Pattern: Cake 0144, Tiramisu Knit Dress

Pattern Description: Knit knee-length dress with front surplice (mock wrap) neckline, short kimono sleeves and an easily customizable midriff section. The skirt features in-seam pockets and falls in the soft folds of a vintage half-circle skirt. The pattern includes optional stripes placement guide, cup sizing A-D and a bust alteration line.

click image for source

Pattern Sizing: The sizing is one of the best parts about Cake patterns, completely customization. The bust sizes range from 30″-50″, but you can pair any bust size with any cup size and waist measurement. I made a 30″ Bust, C cup, and 27.5 waist. I did end up taking the sides in by about 0.5″ on both sides at the end, but I’m pretty certain that was due to my fabric choice.

Fabric Used: “Potent Purple” rayon spandex knit, so it’s super soft and super stretchy. It drapes really well, making the skirt really fun to walk and swish in, but it’s also kindof heavy so I was worried the skirt would be too much for the waistband, but it seems to be ok. When it’s on a hanger I keep the skirt flipped over the top so it doesn’t deform in my closet.

I must be on a purple kick…

I had the lighten the pictures up so they’re a little grainy, the color is a little brighter in real life

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, very clear and nice illustrations.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s very easy to wear and super comfortable, but it’s a style that you could easily dress up if you wanted. The cross over neckline really doesn’t gape just like promised and the skirt is just fun to twirl in!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I took the sides in a little due to the stretchiness of my fabric and eliminated the pockets. I know one of Steph’s shticks is “always with pockets” but really, not everything needs a pocket. In my experience, unless the knit is very stable, pockets aren’t going to work well anyways. And my fabric was a little slippery so they were just a hassle (I did try to use them, but decided it wasn’t necessary and too much work)

Would you sew it again? Yes! I don’t know when, but I’ve got ideas for this pattern when I get to it again. I want to try extending the sleeves to be long for winter or cut the skirt short to make a peplum top

Would you recommend it to others? Double yes, the customizable sizing makes it look good on everyone. My mom, Bia, wants to borrow it now that I’m done and we have really different body types so it’ll be cool to compare the two dresses eventually.

~Molly

15 Comments leave one →
  1. The Oldest Sister permalink
    April 19, 2013 8:30 am

    Bia, will you make this for me too?!

    • Bia permalink
      April 19, 2013 8:15 pm

      I can! We’ll ask Molly what kind of knit would be best.

  2. The Oldest Sister permalink
    April 19, 2013 8:48 am

    Ps, all I can think about now is tiramisu!

  3. April 19, 2013 9:18 am

    Beautiful dress!

  4. April 19, 2013 10:00 am

    Lovely dress. I want to make this.

    • April 20, 2013 6:39 am

      Thanks! You definitely should, one of the most comfortable dresses I’ve ever worn

  5. April 19, 2013 10:41 am

    I’m so glad I’m not the only original pattern tester who just barely finished her first Tiramisu (but haven’t posted mine yet). Your version is lovely. That purple is a great color on you.

    • April 20, 2013 6:38 am

      I know, I felt a little bad that it took so long, but Steph did an awesome job. Thanks!

  6. April 19, 2013 2:46 pm

    i just sewed up a tiramisu too, same size, same alterations, same no pockets!!!

  7. Lisa permalink
    April 20, 2013 8:17 am

    Hi, Molly – Gorgeous dress. I made a top out of Potent Purple rayon spandex fabric and wanted to let you know that it bleeds color in the wash. It would be a good idea to wash separately. Great color, but not on other items of clothing….

  8. April 27, 2013 1:33 pm

    Hey, Molly,

    A different Lisa here, but wanted you to know that Potent Purple (from JoAnn’s, right?) likes to keep “growing” after the fact. You may want to keep it in a drawer instead. Luckily, I usually wash it with black so didn’t notice the color running. By the way, great fit!

Trackbacks

  1. Double Redux | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

