Skip to content

Purple Monster

February 25, 2013
by

Man. This dress took forever to sew and finish. Not even entirely because I’ve got a mere few weeks left til my thesis needs to be sent to my committee to review before I defend, though that has been a large factor. No, this dress turned into a monster project that never wanted to end. First, there’s just a lot of fabric so it’s kindof a heavy dress (also it’s made of denim…), there are a ton of seams and corners to fit in just right (they didn’t all fit in just right) and top stitching on almost everything.

PurpleMonster (19)

I was doing really good sewing this up just a little at a time to relieve some school related stress, I even got it totally hemmed. Then I went looking for buttons and the trouble started. I found the most awesomely perfect purple buttons ever! But dumb old Hancocks only had 8 buttons, I needed 12… I asked one of the worker-ladies (knowing the answer already) if they had more. No, they don’t keep inventory stock, but they do get new shipments every week. So I went back twice hoping they’d gotten more. No. I finally searched and found Pacific Trims (in New York, why is it called Pacific Trims when it’s next to the Atlantic?) had the same buttons. Then my pile of buttons sat on my desk for several more weeks before I finally got back to it.

The pockets are awesomely deep

The pockets are awesomely deep

But I finally finished it! And I think I look pretty damn good in it too, if I may say so myself!

Pattern: Butterick 5598 by Suzi Chin Maggy Boutique

Pattern Description: Close-fitting, lined, above mid-knee length dresses A, B have double-breasted front button opening, raglan cap sleeves, upper front and back seams, front and back pleats, side pockets, collar variations, carriers and belt, topstitch trim.

Pattern Sizing: 8-14 (or 16-24), I made a 10

Fabric Used: Purple stretch denim for the exterior and facings, quilting cotton and acrylic lining for the lining. All the top stitching and buttons holes probably would have worked better without the stretch, but nothing is ruined.

PurpleMonster (12)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, I tried my best to follow them too because I’m not used to making trench coats or dresses. I messed up on clipping the collar area, but I fudged it to look ok. This is definitely not a beginner pattern though.

Sunset palm tree quilting cotton for the lining!

Sunset palm tree quilting cotton for the lining!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that it’s a classic trench dress design and all the top stitching really makes it feel like a real trench. The collar is a little big for me. The sleeves and arm holes bother me a little – the sleeves stick out (but there’s no way I’m unpicking all that top stitching to take them in!) and the arm holes feel low. I can live with it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None

PurpleMonster (13)

Would you sew it again? Probably not because it’s kindof an involved make, not difficult, it just took a while. Maybe in a few years if I feel the need for another trench dress (because I doubt it will go out of style anytime soon) in a different color.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes!

~Molly

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2013 10:02 am

    This is gorgeous! Purple denim! I think it was worth all it’s monsterness. It’s a wonderful dress!

  2. February 25, 2013 2:12 pm

    It looks fantastic. And I love denim. Even better that it’s purple denim!

  3. February 25, 2013 3:19 pm

    Hi there, saw your comment over on Kutai Kuwai’s blog and thought I’d pop over. Your dress is gorgeous! Fantastic fabric and that lining is too fabulous! It needs to be made into a belt or something :). Great job! Looking forward to following you and seeing what else you sew.

  4. February 25, 2013 3:59 pm

    I have this pattern too but I’ve put it off since I can tell it will probably take me forever as well, so much finishing and top stitching, haha. You version looks great, it reminded me that I had the pattern, I love the sleeves and your pocket lining is fabulous!

  5. February 25, 2013 5:18 pm

    I love it!! It looks amazing on you!

  6. February 25, 2013 7:57 pm

    I hope you get sick of this dress very soon & pass it on to me!!!!!! This is awesome!!!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  7. February 26, 2013 4:24 pm

    Denim dresses really suit you! This looks good-I like the trench shape and collar (don’t remember ever seeing this pattern before, but that’s no surprise given I only sew from magazines X). I liked the silhouette of the burda denim dress better but this one’s probably more of ‘day wear’ silhouette..

  8. February 26, 2013 4:25 pm

    *a day wear silhouette..

  9. February 28, 2013 10:30 pm

    Your trench dress turned out awesome, and well worth the extra time to finish. I love everything about trench coats/dresses/skirts. The buttons are perfect too :)

  10. March 2, 2013 9:53 am

    Love this dress! It’s purple, my favorite color!

  11. March 18, 2013 11:30 am

    Super cute dress! I really like the cap sleeves.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

