Skip to content

Pineapple!

February 10, 2013

Every year, we have a Pineapple and Sake Party, usually in the February – March time frame. This year is no different, being the 33rd Annual Pineapple and Sake Party.  Of COURSE there is a history to a party that has occured for 33 years, but that is a different story.   So… what does that have to do with sewing, fabric, or the like?
Over the years, I have made pineapple shirts for the entire family (Oldest Sister, Molly, and Pedro have all outgrown theirs now), a pillow cover made from pineapple fabric, and a couple wall hangings.

Pineapple Pillows

Pineapple Pillows

Pineapple "do-dads"

Pineapple “do-dads”

The invitation each year has at least one pineapple image prominently featured (well, I guess one that Pedro designed a few years ago just had a human heart cross-section on it – this is to be expected from Pedro).  Not that we are consumed by pineapples, but we have pineapple ‘dust gatherers’ that people have given us, pineapple socks, pineapple serving dishes, a pineapple Christmas tree ornament, … you get the idea.
Today, I want to show you the NEW pineapple wall hanging I made. It hangs in the front entry way of our house to greet all who enter, including the multitude of friends, family, and neighbors that attend the infamous Pineapple and Sake Party.

Pineapple Wall Hanging, finished 2-9-13

Pineapple Wall Hanging, finished 2-9-13

My inspiration was a full sized quilt I saw on this blog.  I just used her concept of squares and a few half-square triangles to make my wall hanging, based on the approximate size of the place it hangs.  My wall hanging (or should I say “door hanging”) is ~18 inches x 30 inches.  In the spirit of true stash busting, I did not buy a single new piece of fabric, batting or backing for this wall hanging!  I think that the fabric I inherited from my mom will last longer than I do, but they sure come in handy.

close up of pineapple wall hanging

close up of pineapple wall hanging

It didn’t take too long to make, due to its relative small size (machine pieced, machine quilted).   I was careful to measure  while cutting out (well, mostly…. if you look closely, you’ll see some issues…) and pressing the fabric and seams as I went.  I like it’s cheerfulness and it was lots of fun to do.

Hope you like the new wall hanging!

- Bia

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann permalink
    February 10, 2013 12:48 pm

    PLEASE tell the story of the party, dying to know! It sounds fun. All the pineapple stuff looks great, too.

  2. February 10, 2013 5:41 pm

    Oh my goodness that pineapple throw pillow is too cute! What a creative idea- I foresee this being all over pinterest.

    • Bia permalink
      February 11, 2013 6:37 am

      I have to admit that only the flat pillow was made by me! The awesomely wonderful ‘3-d’ pineapple pillow is a catalog find.

  3. February 10, 2013 9:13 pm

    House Rule: never mention mistakes. 99% of them time the rest of us can’t find them even if you point them out. Looks awesome btw. (this is caused by the fact that what one person considers a mistake, other people don’t or don’t care about as much as you do)

  4. February 11, 2013 10:10 am

    Love that new pineapple hanging!

  5. February 18, 2013 11:04 pm

    I love the pineapple theme. It sounds delicious! And it’s nice to have a theme to one’s kitsch.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

