Skip to content

Always A Good One

February 6, 2013
by

The sewing is very slow going right now, but I’m just working my way through my queue of projects already cut out (almost time for new ones!). This blouse is totally useless to me at the moment, even with the occasional spring weather (it’s amazing how awesome 45 degrees F can feel after -10 degrees a few days earlier) it’s still too cold inside my office at school. The blouse is also nothing new, I made my first one in 2011 so the review will be short.

Pattern: S5451 from 1982

Pattern Description: Button front shirt has extended shoulders and shawl collar. V. 1 has cuffs and notched detail on collar. V. 2 has wing shaped collar and cap sleeves with slits. V. 3 has shaped cap sleeves and picot edging. I made view 1 again.

Pattern Sizing: 10

S5451

Fabric Used: Printed cotton

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the loose fit and integrated collar (even though it’s a little tricky to sew), and it’s easy to dress up or down depending on your lower half garment of choice.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None

Would you sew it again? I might wait awhile to sew this one again, since it is my second time already.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes

~Molly

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2013 6:28 am

    I like yours better than the pattern envelope!

  2. Bia permalink
    February 6, 2013 6:35 am

    this is obviously a “vintage” pattern, as it is single sized! Do you think I have it?

    • February 6, 2013 10:04 am

      You think you have this pattern? I don’t know, but probably not

  3. Pedro permalink
    February 6, 2013 10:01 am

    Weren’t you going to make me one of these? I think so… awkward

    • February 6, 2013 10:05 am

      No, I have fabric to make you a different shirt that is kindof like this… but not this one. I thought about putting it in my project boxes to get cut out next time but I didn’t… awkward

      • Pedro permalink
        February 6, 2013 10:06 am

        See, told you. Pretty awkward if you ask me

      • Pedro permalink
        February 6, 2013 10:07 am

        What is the fabric? Is it still Pedro-worthy?

    • February 6, 2013 10:07 am

      Well, you are awkward in general. I will consider cutting your shirt out in my next round of projects, but I’m not convinced yet. Plaid flannel is so boring…

      • Pedro permalink
        February 6, 2013 10:08 am

        Ooh plaid flannel! Why haven’t you made it yet?! Silly Carl

      • February 6, 2013 10:12 am

        Oh, so you don’t want me to “spice it up” with some “sassy” fabric… maybe stretchy snake skin with glitter?

      • Pedro permalink
        February 6, 2013 10:28 am

        We don’t appreciate that

      • February 6, 2013 8:19 pm

        heheheheh

    • Bia permalink
      February 6, 2013 11:41 am

      I am all for strechy snake fabric — we could take that cape ….

  4. February 6, 2013 3:06 pm

    Pretty fabric! Amazing that such an 80′s looking pattern looks so fresh made up.

  5. February 6, 2013 8:20 pm

    Nicely done. I’m a big fan of magyar sleeves-they just look so elegant and drape perfectly irrespective of shoulder point/ level. You should totally rock that with a little skirt (slimline).

Trackbacks

  1. Embroidering Quotes | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

