Skip to content

Stashbusting Sewalong

January 22, 2013
by

I seem to preface all attempts to join sewalongs or sewing challenges with the statement “I don’t normally do sewalongs” because I don’t. Maybe once per year if there’s an interesting one, but I just can’t force myself into the typical sewalong box that involves a host blogger showing tutorials and guiding fledgling (not always of course) seamsters through the process while everyone participating sews the same pattern or the same type of garment. I like the idea of a sewalong, only for other people… that’s just not how I sew.

Spot likes to nap on my floor cushion ... and fabric and paper and counter tops, basically she'll sleep anywhere.

Spot likes to nap on my floor cushion in the sewing room… and on fabric, paper, counter tops, basically she’ll sleep anywhere.

The main reason that I can’t do sewalongs (notice I say can’t instead of dislike) is because I have an extremely suborn (possibly to the point of neurotic) attachment to my sewing queue. I actually feel guilty if I cut out a new project and skip any other projects I already have cut out in one of my 10 project boxes (I cut out 10 projects at once for efficiency and because I don’t like cutting. I also trace patterns in mass). I also just don’t like sewing the same thing at the same time as tons of other seamsters, even if we are only virtually connected – it feels conformist to me, like I’m giving in to something… I’m not sure what, I just don’t like it.

My project boxes, great for keeping everything organized. To the left are my pattern drawers and to the right is a pile of discarded clothing that has recreation potential.

My project boxes, great for keeping everything organized. To the left are my pattern drawers and to the right is a pile of discarded clothing that has recreation potential. Those will take a while to get through though :(

So the challenges I take on, dreamed up by other internet seamsters, tend to not have a time line or due date and they don’t focus on a specific pattern. But Cindy of Cation Designs recently came up with a new, year long challenge to bust everyone’s stashes and that’s a goal I can definitely get behind. It’s kindof like Zoe’s Stash Busting pledge, but more involved. There’s lots of monthly challenges, which I’ll probably pick and choose from as I am able (this whole thesis and May graduation thing is really time consuming). So here it is:

I, Molly,commit to using LOTS (specific numbers are also too constricting!) of stash fabric in 2013. I also commit to not buying any new fabric except for linings and notions until June (I can’t guarantee I won’t laps around my birthday…).

I also just really wanted this sweet widget

And here is my stash, stored in plastic buckets and organized first by fabric weave (heavy/bottom weight, light/blouse weight, knits) then by size of the piece of fabric (as in large unused pieces or large scraps from old projects). I definitely have enough fabric to last me forever and tons of it already has a general plan for use. For me planning projects is nearly as fun as creating them and having a finished product!

This isn't all fabric, I also have magazines, notions, pressing tools and my "travel" sewing machine on these shelves.

This isn’t all fabric, I also have magazines, notions, pressing tools and my “travel” sewing machine on these shelves.

Another semi “challenge” I’ve set for myself is to include at least one project using recycled fabric and one doll clothing project every time I cut out a new batch of projects, just so I don’t forget or push them back. But this isn’t really big challenge since I don’t cut out new projects very often.

~Molly

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2013 8:13 am

    Good for you … Success!

  2. January 22, 2013 12:12 pm

    Good on you. Agree with you on everything above.. I’ve been sewing from my stash for over a year now-I bought fabric last year maybe twice? And both times it was stuff I needed for projects which got made instead of stashed. Probably the only things I’ll be buying this year are linings.. XD

  3. January 22, 2013 4:49 pm

    Yay! I don’t normally commit to these because of my rampant flightiness- but this is something I need to do! Hi Molly!

  4. January 22, 2013 10:21 pm

    I need to work as I please and if there’s a challenge I actually want to do, I’ll do it but that’s it. I know you’ll do well with this challenge because it fits in with your projects. All the best.

  5. January 23, 2013 10:55 am

    Hey, I’m glad you’re with us for however much you do! Em and I left things vague on purpose so that people wouldn’t feel the pressure to get in over their heads. I’m like you on the no-cutting-in-the-sewing-queue thing, too.

Trackbacks

  1. Feeling Reflective: A Response « The Perfect Nose
  2. Three Weeks | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

