Skip to content

The Coral Cardigan Experiment

November 15, 2012
by

I love cardigans in the winter, they look nice and are great for layering. I made this pattern once before and really liked the results, but the fabric I used wasn’t very good so it started pilling almost immediately and the last time I washed it a button fell off, so I pretty much gave up on it. Obviously I needed another one. I have a tank top from the same fabric and pattern cut out, but haven’t felt like sewing it together yet, not sure if I’ll even review it once I do.

Proudly accessorizing with my “I Voted” sticker

Pattern: M5978, OOP

Pattern Description: Cardigans have three-quarter or full length sleeves and stitched hems; cardigan A has purchased lace trim; cardigan B has jewel stones; cardigan C has pearls; cardigan D has self-fabric appliques; sleeveless top E has narrow hem finishing at neck, armhole and lower edges.

Pattern Sizing: XS – M, I cut a small

Fabric Used: Coral “slub” knit, tissue weight

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Mostly, I made some experimental changes though.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn’t follow them much because I like to sew the underarm and side seams as one after attaching the sleeve heads.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s basic and fits really well. I didn’t use the facings this time around because on my old version they were kindof annoying.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: The biggest change I made was how I finished the neck and front edges. Instead of using the facing I cut long strips of self fabric approximately the same length as the edges, folded them in half and sewed to the edges. Then I turned the seam allowance inside and used a twin needle to secure that down. An experiment that worked out pretty good. Next time I need to remember to cut off the original seam allowance, and make sure the strips are as long or longer than the garment edge (mine somehow were a little too short so I eased them in a little, which I think makes it drape a little different).

I also changed the order of construction like I mentioned above and finished the hems with a twin needle (which didn’t work great with the thin fabric, but that’s ok). And I didn’t put on the buttons because I was worried the weight of the fabric wouldn’t handle button holes, who needs buttons anyways?

Would you sew it again? Yes

Would you recommend it to others? For some reason the pattern is out of print, even though it’s pretty nice, but it’s a good pattern if you have it. There might be an updated cardigan pattern I don’t know about that uses the same base as this one (they like to recycle patterns I think, to make more money of course).

Here you can kindof see how the front drapes because of the edge easing

~Molly

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Pedro permalink
    November 15, 2012 8:01 pm

    AND I LOVE FLANNELS

  2. Bia permalink
    November 16, 2012 6:06 am

    I have made three different cardigans with this pattern. One is a relatively stable brown knit that I embelished with ~7 random (all different) brass buttons on the top right front. The second is a bizarre green and black flowered lacy knit that Molly and I bought (on double-dog sale!) and split in Rapid City. The most recent is a very light weight silky black knit, no buttons, just right for pushing the sleeves up. I am surprised the pattern is out of print, its great!

  3. November 16, 2012 8:50 am

    This is so timely for me; I’m getting ready to make my second version of this and I was trying to figure out a way to get around the facings as well. I wonder if I sandiwch interfacing in the edge piece if it will still hold buttons….hmmm…The color is really cute, also!

  4. November 16, 2012 11:59 am

    I really like this, I’m going to have to try to find this pattern or another like it. I love cardigans!

  5. November 16, 2012 10:58 pm

    This is a good one so no wonder the pattern is out of print. Nice colour on you too

Trackbacks

  1. Three Weeks | Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  2. The Week of May 4th to May 10th 2014 | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

