Skip to content

SDP: Prairie Dresses and Pajamas

September 30, 2012
by

One main reason I have accumulated so much doll related items in the last year is because we (my sisters and I) had a lot of dolls and toys when we were little, as most children do. But our dad is a bit of a pack rat and refused to get rid of any of said toys, saving them for when we had children (except the Older Sister had a boy… so he doesn’t care for all those dolls mostly). Now the parents are empty nesters and have started to expand into our old spaces in the house.

Classic 80s prairie dresses

This preamble is an attempt to explain why every time I make the long trip home (8 hour drive anyone? Spot came along too and slept most of the way) I end up coming back with more stuff. I’ve warned Mr. Husband that next year when I graduate if we move out of driving range from Lincoln, I’ll be taking larger boxes back with me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Anyways, Bia found a box of American Girl clothing for me. I’m pretty sure I put it inside the box years ago for safe keeping too because it was all neatly folded and organized. Most of the clothes were things Grandma made for our dolls, lots of prairie dresses and pajamas, all expertly made of course. Above is a slideshow of some of the dresses, there are probably more. I’m not really into girly clothes anymore, so most are not my style but still great items. The box even contained Sally’s original Meet Samantha dress which Pedro and I had assumed was lost forever!

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2012 11:15 am

    I’m not sure that you give Da adequate credit. Surely w/o him, NONE of this great stuff would have been preserved. Emphasis: Surely w/o him, NONE of this great stuff would have been preserved. Very, VERY true!!!! “A bit of a pack rat” is all that you have to say?

  2. October 4, 2012 8:55 pm

    Heheheheh btw, see this yet?

  3. October 10, 2012 2:08 pm

    Ahhh! I’m so jealous!!! I always wanted an American doll when I was little!! In fact I still want one. Samantha is my favorite:) And I love those handmade dresses that you have for your dolls!

Trackbacks

  1. Thrift Project: Baby stroller & doll clothes | Leu, sewing in NYC

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

