Skip to content

Upcyclying a shirt to a girl’s dress

September 12, 2012

In the Fall 2012 Stitch magazine, there were a series of projects where they ‘upcycled’ things into new things.  I mostly followed their idea and instructions, but put my own changes into the project.

Fall 2012 Stitch magazine

Step 1: Secure no-longer-used shirt from my “in-town” brother (girl’s dress will be for his 5 year old daugher, Nora – or as we refer to her – “The Norbster”.

No longer worn shirt from my brother

Step 2:  Download and print the pattern pieces and realize that the pattern is for making little girls’ dresses sizes 1T, 2T, and 3T.  Hmmm…. my intended little girl is 5.  I tape the pattern together and then expand it to size 5, based on equal and proportional steps, as seen between the 1T to 2T to 3T sizes.  Note Zeus the cat, expecting to help me.

Zeus, helping me cut out the dress.

Step 3:  They put the front of the men’s shirt with the buttons in the back.  I decide to put the buttons in the front.  They have cap sleeves.  And a ruffle.  Neither are likely acceptable to Nora.  And, because I am making a larger dress than the pattern/instructions call for, I don’t have room for front and back facings.  I cut a few strips of almost bias to use as facings.

Step 4:  Sew it up!

Sewing the dress.

Step 5:  All done!  Hard to tell if Nora actually likes it, but time will tell.

Nora’s new dress!

Nora in her new dress!

–  Bia

P.S. Abe (my grandson and The Other Sister’s son; Molly and Pedro’s nephew) and Nora (my neice; Molly and her sisters’ cousin) are one day apart in age.  They went to to the same daycare for the first 5 years of their lives and are really good friends.  Both started Kindergarten this fall.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2012 7:19 am

    Aw what a cutie XD

  2. September 13, 2012 2:58 am

    Very very cute – that’s the dress and the wee lady wearing it :o)

Trackbacks

  1. Three Wise Owls! « Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  2. 2012 “Making” Statistics « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

