Skip to content

A Speckled Top

September 10, 2012

So I loved this rayon print so much when I made it into a circle skirt that I went back to the store and bought more. Now I’ve made a top from it, and I still have a bunch left over mauahahaha!

This is a pretty simple top. I originally bought the pattern for the jacket, and I may still get to it someday, but the top was cute too. I actually thought it had an extra shoulder piece, but the back just extends forward which is interesting. The front is also cut on the bias, but not the back, so it isn’t too boxy.

Pattern: S2263

Pattern Description: Misses’ & miss petite jacket, top and skirts. Threads sewing pattern collection. American Sewing Guild.

Not really sure what it means to be a Threads pattern or why the ASG is approving it. Must just be an awesome pattern? Also, I noticed some extreme similarities in the two skirt to S2451 (a fairly popular pattern I think) except the pockets. Lazy much Simplicity? But it does look good with the whole ensemble. Just wish I didn’t own both patterns now….

Pattern Sizing: 8-16 (and 16-24), I cut a 10. It’s supposed to be loose, so I think the fit is good, but I bet most people could go down a size in the top because of the bias front.

Fabric Used: Rayon challis

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Probably, though they never show it untucked. I do think the line drawing makes it look more fitted than it is.

Were the instructions easy to follow? What instructions? There were literally 6 steps listed, but I guess that’s ok cause it is a very simple top.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s loose and easy, but a tiny bit interesting. If it wasn’t for the bias bit it would take very small amounts of fabric. Next time I will definitely add a couple inches to the length though cause it is a little short for me.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None, I even used the facings provided! Crazy! (Bias tape would work just as well though)

Would you sew it again? Yes

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, no need to repeat myself I think.

~Molly

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Pendle Stitches permalink
    September 10, 2012 7:59 am

    What’s not to love about that fabric? Really cute top! Can’t wait to see the jacket. On an aside…are black cats obligatory for seamstresses? My Alice is black too…but I do live in witch country! ;-)

  2. September 10, 2012 8:14 am

    Very nice, a simple top like that can work in your wardrobe for years. Love the fabric, rayon is my favorite clothing fabric, drapes great, holds color after washing and washing, and best of all breaths like cotton!

  3. September 10, 2012 11:43 am

    Cute top! Love the print. I can understand why you bought more.

  4. September 10, 2012 12:28 pm

    I think that I approve it too! So does the cat.

  5. September 10, 2012 1:29 pm

    Very nice! I love having separates,this one would be cute with some bright pants

  6. September 10, 2012 4:54 pm

    Really lovely top! I didn’t know about Threads sewing patterns – i’ll check them out!

  7. Cuckoo Chanel permalink
    September 10, 2012 6:33 pm

    Very sweet top. Definitely need to look this up. You look great. Smart to buy more of that beautiful fabric.

  8. September 10, 2012 7:40 pm

    Very nice! I never would have looked twice at that pattern but I really like that top. I’ve been looking for a simple top pattern for a woven.

  9. September 12, 2012 1:56 am

    That is the perfect little pattern to showcase that lovely fabric. I’m not surprised you went back to get more! You look terrific in this top and this print :)

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

