Skip to content

SDP: (Toy) Sewing Supplies for Dolls

September 2, 2012
by

So, Pedro was in town the other weekend for a little “camping excursion” and in typical style, decided to take a gander around good old Target. And, just like last time my sisters came to town, I found something awesome in the doll isle.

Yes, indeed. Those are in fact sewing supplies for 18″ sized dolls. THERE IS A TINY SEWING MACHINE AND IRON!!!1#!!%qqQ!!!!!!!!!! Isn’t that the cutest thing ever? Obviously the don’t actually work, but the presser foot and needle on the machine do go up and down.

In total the set included a sewing machine, tiny scissors, spools of thread, making pencil, thimble, buttons, ruler with slide, tape measure, a neat little carrying case,  wrist pincushion, a vintage pattern envelope (no patter of course, that would be ridiculously amazing and I would probably have had a heart attack), rolls of fabric, garment bag and hangers,  iron, ironing board, and water spray bottle for the iron. All of which are plastic and don’t really “work” except the fabric is real, just tiny.

I have wanted a doll sized sewing machine for a while, and thought about making one from legos sometime, but this is pretty awesome. And now Mia and Sally can (creepily) sit by me and “sew”!!!

~Molly

*by the way SDP stands for Sunday Doll Post if that wasn’t clear, it makes the titles shorter.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. RagDollsRising permalink
    September 2, 2012 7:55 am

    That is great, encouraging the next generation of sewing geniuses!

  2. The Oldest Sister permalink
    September 2, 2012 8:51 am

    Damn it Molly! I already bought you this for Christmas! Stop buying toys for yourself, this is why everyone gets cereal or socks from me, because you buy yourself presents before a holiday! Well, expect some socks from me now.

  3. September 2, 2012 3:50 pm

    My girls are loving this post!

  4. September 2, 2012 5:24 pm

    I must not look for this online, I must not look for this online, I must not look for this online …… I haven’t sewn a single thing for my dolls yet so I must not look for this online!

    I do love your SDPs though – they remind me that I haven’t yet sewn anything for either of my two dolls (and I cannot consider buying another doll, except for a few quid from a charity shop) until I do actually sew something for Abigail and the, as yet, unnamed doll (who might or might not end up being named Miranda).

  5. September 3, 2012 9:23 pm

    Score! Looks like another hit by the looks of it XD Oh and by the way, have you seen this yet? Dunno if you’re into paper dolls at all but some of hers are very pretty and I thought you might like the idea..

    • September 3, 2012 10:13 pm

      Oh man, that’s pretty sweet. There’s even an Agyness Deyn paper doll!

      • September 4, 2012 2:40 am

        Ya she makes really pretty paper dolls-she used to do ones for a lot of runway shows then she got a job and got busy. XD

Trackbacks

  1. Our Generation “Pretty Nifty” Accessories | Toferet's Toy Shelf

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

