Skip to content

Reconstructing Pants

August 31, 2012

Seems like the trendy thing is to wear colored jeans or pants, I’ve tried it but I just feel like I’m wearing crazy pants.

I guess it’s hard to see the color because of the light, but it’s kindof a wine purple color

So I’ve had these purple cords for a while now, never once wore them outside cause they didn’t fit very well and what do you wear them with? I have no idea. But for some reason it’s easier to style crazy skirts, maybe because they don’t cover your entire legs so it’s less color, I don’t know. So I decided to cut up my crazy pants to make a sweet¬†corduroy¬†skirt.

Basically all I did was cut them off below the knee (approximately) and cut up the inseam and a little bit of the crotch seam. I layed them flat on the floor in the a-line shape I wanted and pinned some of the leftover leg fabric inside the triangles left open below the crotch seam. Then just sewed it up and hemmed it a little.

Here you can kindof see what I’m talking about

Obviously this was all a little thrown together and most all the edges were left raw, so they fray a little, but that’s kindof the “look.”

And just minutes later…
This picture shows the true color of the skirt pretty well too

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    August 31, 2012 6:30 am

    Looks like the skirt-that-used-to-be-pants fits ok at the top. Was the previous not-fit-too-well part the length of the crotch? Did you make the previous pants yourself or were they boughten?
    PS Happy Blue Moon (early this morning)!

    • August 31, 2012 6:40 am

      Ya, they were too long in the bottom and too stretchy for my taste. Now the stretchyness is perfect for a skirt! They were from Old Navy

  2. RagDollsRising permalink
    August 31, 2012 7:56 am

    Molly,
    Very nice, when I was in junior high in the 70’s this kind of skirt was really popular, but in denim!

  3. September 1, 2012 7:19 pm

    Oh very cool! You’ll get more wear out of it now. Someone at my old lab made one of these but only used the pants for the top part (like a yoke) and made the flared portion out of gathered regular fabric.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

