Skip to content

The Long Run Top

August 22, 2012
by

Since I cut out about 10 projects at once, then sew them up as I feel like it, sometimes it takes quite a long time to get from start to end (also makes it hard for me to let things jump the queue, but that’s different issue). This was the last cut out project in my box before it was time to cut out the new queued projects, so it probably took nearly 6 months to get to. Ironically it only took about 1- 1.5 hours to sew.

I was kindof surprised when I was cutting it out that I actually squeezed this pattern out of scraps and leftovers from this dress. The back is hacked together has some extra “design lines,” but now that it’s all together I don’t think it looks out of place at all. And I really like this top now that it’s (finally) done!

Pattern: Burdastyle Knit Wrap Top 114 11/2011

Pattern Description: From the German site - tangled fishing line? Do not worry. Beautiful entanglements ultimately guarantees the shirt effectively draped fronts. Secant extra narrow shoulders and sleeves shape slender arms. To the model gives it a sewing school for beginners!

That mostly makes sense…

Pattern Sizing: 34-42, I cut a 34. Usually I’m a 36, but for knits I like to do 34 if it’s an option. When I was sewing it looked like it might be big, but it fits great. I did sew the side seams 1/8″ bigger than the rest of the seams.

Fabric Used: Leftover cotton knit. This fabric has just enough drape for this top, but would be even better with a lighter or drapier knit.

Since I rearranged the sewing room I don’t have an empty wall that works well for pictures… so we might be experimenting for a while to find a new “location.” This time it’s the hallway.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? It definitely looks like the model photo, but I think the technical drawing might be misleading because that front crossover piece isn’t curved at all and there’s no gathering at the neck, it’s just taking into account the fabric’s supposed drape.

The drape is a little tricky to get situated in a good place

Were the instructions easy to follow? Actually yes, mostly. This was the one pattern in the magazine with more detailed instructions and construction drawings, so it was better than normal.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the slouchiness of it all, the long sleeves and draped neck. And the extended back yoke, instead of having a shoulder seam, is a neat feature. The sleeves are dropped a little and that always feels a little funny to me, but it’s not bad.

And then of course, things got silly…

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Just to piece the back and sew the underarm and side seams a little bigger. I did sew the  sleeves in before closing them, then sewed the underarm seam and sides seams in one, but I nearly always do that now if I can.

Would you sew it again? Yes, it’s a nice pattern and I have tons of knits to use up.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I had read some reviews that weren’t so good for this pattern, but I think it worked out fine. Just make sure to use a light weight knit and maybe make a size smaller than you would for wovens.

~Molly

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 6:55 am

    I love this- great color on you and the art is a nice backdrop!

  2. August 22, 2012 8:16 am

    I like this! it’s super cute and looks comfy – a perfect top for fall :) Great colour too! :)

  3. August 22, 2012 8:33 am

    very cute! : )

  4. August 22, 2012 7:17 pm

    Ooh, I like this a lot. I have the perfect knit and this issue of Burda….

  5. August 24, 2012 12:13 am

    Very nice. I also think yours is m

  6. August 24, 2012 12:14 am

    Very nice. I also think yours is more wearable than Burda’s!

  7. August 24, 2012 3:10 pm

    This looks really great! I wasn’t too keen on the mag version – it just looked too huge and floppy.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

