Skip to content

Sunday Doll Post: Monsters

August 5, 2012
by

I love unusual dolls, the less realistic the better. So of course I’ve had my eye on the Monster High dolls. But I don’t like all of them, some just don’t look much like the original monsters they’re based on much to me. Anyways the first one (yes, I do have more than one now. But I won one in a giveaway so it’s not totally unreasonable) I ended up with was Scull Shores Draculaura, daughter of Dracula. But her back story is really complicated trying to explain away the fact that Dracula is evil in movies and books but not in this story line. They claim that Dracula’s identity was stolen by another vampire or something, whatever.

Ula in her super cute one piece bathing suit and sailors hat (also anchor earrings and shoes!)

Basically, Draculaura (Ula for short) is a vegetarian and always has a pink, Victorian inspired theme. Because that’s how vampires dress? Of course I had to attempt some Victorian inspire clothing for her. I based this dress off the blouse of an extra outfit I bought her, I couldn’t resist how cute this outfit was (and it was only ~$7, totally worth it in my opinion. I don’t care about your opinion on the matter).

Newspaper Club outfit (hoary for any doll that isn’t in “fashion” club, those are so uncreative). Her tights are newspaper print!

Sewing clothes for these dolls is extremely difficult. They are super skinny and have the worst sway back you will ever see. But if Mattel can do it, so can I! I skipped drafting the collar because those are hard to get right, but mostly they’re just rectangles very carefully sewn in, and I sewed the sleeves in by hand so they don’t look so awesome right here (because I was tired of the pattern by then and didn’t want to make a second version). For being so small, I think it turned out pretty good and could maybe pass for being Victorian inspired… kindof.

Skirt pattern piece isn’t included because it’s just a rectangle

I started working on a knit dress for the Monster High dolls, but I haven’t figured out how to sew it so it doesn’t stretch out horribly since the pieces are tiny, yet again. We will see. I swear, Mattel’s factories in China must have some teeny tiny sewing machines to get these outfits cranked out, you almost need a free form quilting foot or something that I don’t have.

I also want to throw it out there that Monster High doll collectors are nuts and Mattel encourages them to be nuts. You know those crazy people that know exactly when all the stores in town are supposed to get their shipments in and such. Again, not my cup of tea so whatever. I’m a casual hoarder. I do like how all the Monster High characters have their own unique head sculpts (Ula has pointed ears) and are extremely possible (their hands and forearms even pop out for easier dressing, super creepy looking!). But they sure wear tall shoes, short short skirts and tons of makeup for being 15-16 years old (but I guess that relative too, Ula is supposed to be 1600 years old… why is she still in high school? I guess vampires age differently). Maybe it’s easier to get away with that stuff when the dolls are monsters instead of human teenagers.

So, how does everyone feel about monster themed things?

~Molly

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    August 5, 2012 7:10 am

    Maybe rib knit would make some outfits easier.

    • August 5, 2012 8:16 am

      You just want me to take all your rib knit stash! :)

  2. August 5, 2012 7:53 am

    I think your doll dresses look great. Monster themes? Eh, we had those goofy troll dolls when I was a kid–whatever floats your boat, flips your skirt, etc.!

  3. August 5, 2012 8:07 am

    Very nice! Working with a sway back on normal size clothes is a challenge, you did a great job.

  4. August 5, 2012 8:23 am

    These dolls are so funky and edgy – I love them. Really nice job with the clothes, although I can’t imagine how you managed to sew such tiny pieces, especially those super-thin sleeves!

  5. August 7, 2012 11:12 pm

    These dolls are very pretty! You did a beautiful job with those tiny tiny fabric pieces. I really like the last dress you made for her. Looks kinda rustic, but still edgy. Love it!

  6. October 10, 2012 6:42 pm

    I found your blog via a friend. It’s always a pleasure to find someone else who has sewn for these little dolls. My collection started with a prize from a giveaway as well! :-)

    Thank you for sharing your pattern, I look forward to giving it a try!

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

