Skip to content

My Wedding Dress

July 23, 2012

Yes, Finally I have pictures!

This has been a long time coming, probably my most involved/time consuming project ever if you count all the other wedding stuff I made on top of my dress. Here are a ton of links to the whole process. There might even be more, I can’t remember. But lets talk about the dress, it’s why you’re all here right? Of course it is.

In the end I really loved my dress. It is totally me, I think it made me look pretty darn good (if I do say so myself), and no one will ever have one like it (except maybe an imaginary future daughter if it actually wanted it, but I’m sure it will be way out of style by then). And best of all I MADE IT! so it’s the most special personal thing I could have to wear on my wedding day.

Chasing the ducks

Honestly, I don’t have much more preamble to say. Oh, one more thing: I am so F-ing happy to be done sewing that damn thing! It’s beautiful, and I love it, but it was one major pain in the butt and even reduced me to tears a couple times! Ok, to the review!

Pattern: Style Arc’s Pippa Dress (maybe it’s cause I’m American, but I can not say Pippa correctly in my head. It always sounds like it should be Pipe-ah instead of Pip-ah)

Pattern Description: Gorgeous Pippa’s bridesmates dress with cap sleeve, cowl neck, bust under lay, Lace edging, small back train, centre back loops or optional invisable zip.

Pattern Sizing: You can buy the pattern in sizes 6-20, but they’re not multi-sized, you only get one size because they’re each hand traced onto heavy paper (it feels like waxed or butcher’s paper). This definitely worried me because a) I’d never tried their patterns before or even heard much about the company before and b) the pattern came out really soon after the royal wedding so I was worried about drafting mistakes. But I ordered a size 8 and it fit perfectly in the muslin stag. It came out way too big when I made the real thing for some reason, either my fabric shifted as I was cutting it or it grew, I don’t know, but I ended up taking in about 3/4″ on both side seams. That was really annoying because I had made a lot of effort to get the waist seams to match up (because they didn’t originally on the pattern) and that was completely thrown out the window. I guess at least I was the only one who really noticed it because the seam was under my arm most of the time.

And I never did cut that seam down inside because I was so mad at it, so technically a person could go back in and make it a size bigger if they wanted.

Fabric Used: Off-white silk charmeuse, I think, it’s a fairly thick silk with a satin side and a crepe side. Pretty sure it’s charmeuse. Then ivory bemberg rayon, which was a major pain to cut out but the sewing wasn’t horrible (at least not the worst thing I’ve ever sewn with) and it did turn out to be extremely comfortable while wearing. I would think about using bemberg again, but only for a really special occasion.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes! Except I didn’t put shoulder pads in or buttons down the back. Really, the drafting on this pattern is amazing in my opinion. I don’t know how the rest of their patterns are (cause the shipping is a little expensive from Australia) but I would guess the drafting on most Style Arc pattern is great.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Um, no. I would venture to say terrible in fact. I talked about this in my muslin post and even rewrote the instructions because I’m pretty sure the original instructions skipped steps and might even have some steps backwards. So I followed the instructions I wrote this time, but still got caught by the tricky sleeve/underarm area. Thankfully I had the muslin on my sewing room floor still (it’s become a cat bed for some reason) so I could flip it inside out and rip out whatever seam I wanted to try and figure it out again. I also had several moments in there were I just wanted to give up and cry (which I did), and my mom made me sad by saying if Grandma was still around we could have just packed it all up and sent the dress to her and she’d have figured it out perfectly. She’s definitely in this dress.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s slim and sleek and modern, I love the sleeves and the lace inserted in the sleeve hem and neckline. It was mostly ok to walk in, I stepped on my hem a lot, mostly because I wanted to walk faster than my dress and shoes would allow. I wish the front drape was more drapy, it kindof stuck out. But that’s minor.

Bubbles!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Well, I tried to modify the waist seam so that it would match up better, and it did until I had to take it in. I also omitted the shoulder pads and buttons down the back. And I accidentally didn’t have a long enough zipper, mine ended at the back waist seam (which hits at the bottom of my back/top of my butt area) so I had to wiggle a little to get the dress over my butt but once on it fit great.

I hand sewed the zipper and the hem (with blue hem tape from Grandma’s stash too, old and blue!)

Would you sew it again? Not as a wedding dress. But if you shortened it, it would be really cute a semi formal/or even office dress.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, but definitely do a muslin if only to figure out how you want to construct it. But it’s definitely not for beginners.

Whew, that was a long review!

~Molly

29 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2012 11:14 am

    Oh, you have me doing some delicate girly sniffling at work reading this- it is so beautiful, you all look so happy and seeing you and your father while I read about your grandmother being in the dress….sniff..sniff…beautiful work. Also beautiful work wrestlin’ the wedding socks off Pedro!

  2. RagDollsRising permalink
    July 23, 2012 12:38 pm

    That is beautiful, you did a wonderful job, sewing slippery silk is not easy. You make a cute couple!

  3. July 23, 2012 12:56 pm

    Beautiful dress. You’ve done a great job and you have every right to be chuffed! Lovely happy photos as well.

  4. Bia permalink
    July 23, 2012 1:12 pm

    And, good job Jeremy, on the photos!

  5. July 23, 2012 2:44 pm

    Yay, I’m so glad to finally see it!! It’s beautiful! You look beautiful! I can totally see the joy of the day in these photos. The dress is amazing. What a huge undertaking, making your own wedding dress (no pressure, right?) I’m so impressed with how it turned out. No one will every have a dress like this. Its a complete one of a kind original which makes it so, so special. And yes, YOU made it. That’s awesome..
    And you need to frame that first photo!

  6. PendleStitches permalink
    July 23, 2012 4:28 pm

    You look so beautiful and so happy. Your dress is stunning and, if you don’t mind me saying so, your Mr is a dish too. I love most of all just how happy you all look. A perfect day, I think.

  7. July 23, 2012 8:30 pm

    Totally, totally gorgeous. The style suits you wonderfully and you look positively radiant! As you should, considering it was your wedding day :) sometimes the most frustrating projects are the most satisfying in the end!

  8. July 24, 2012 12:20 am

    The dress looks great and I love the fun shots of the wedding party. Congratulations on both events. One tip, though: if you get the dress dry cleaned, let it air out for several days before you box it (in an acid free box, preferably). The plastic bag dry cleaners use traps the gases from the chemical cleaning agents.

  9. July 24, 2012 12:47 am

    Beautiful! Love the parasols too.

  10. July 24, 2012 6:17 am

    The dress looks beautiful on you! Congratulations on the nuptials x
    what a handsome couple!

  11. July 24, 2012 8:47 am

    Reblogged this on MezzoCouture and commented:
    I don’t know how many of you know Molly, but check out her wedding photos! Her dress is the “Pippa” dress, made of silk charmeuse.

  12. July 24, 2012 8:50 am

    It’s so beautiful, Molly! I love your photos – the parasols and yellow/grey combination are perfect. Congratulations to both of you!

  13. July 24, 2012 12:25 pm

    I love the dress!!! The pictures turned out great.

  14. Sherry permalink
    July 24, 2012 12:44 pm

    Your wedding day looks fabulous and fun! You and your dress both look beautiful. No wedding dress is an easy undertaking, and you’ve done a fabulous job!

  15. July 24, 2012 3:39 pm

    Thank you for sharing not only your beautiful dress with us but your wonderous day! Congratulations to you both!

  16. July 24, 2012 3:59 pm

    Yaay, you made the awesomeness for your awesome day and you look so hot in it XD (So hot like vintage movies i.e. classy-hot). It’s all very loverly, thanks for sharing these precious moments. I’ve tried two (stretch) patterns from pattern runway (with mixed results) but am looking forward to a better freebie (for two months now XD) so I can pick up the Heather dress pattern XD

  17. July 24, 2012 4:31 pm

    Wow you look gorgeous and happy and relaxed. What a stunner and that dress too. Very impressed. Love the parasols as well ….. Thank you so much for the teaser blog posts all the way through the process and the amazing Big Reveal.

  18. July 24, 2012 10:17 pm

    Oh Molly, this is just lovely beyond words. I can’t believe that you wrestled all that silk charmeuse into submission and came up with this gorgeous dress! You look so radiantly happy in all your photos…congratulations on your marriage!!

  19. July 25, 2012 7:11 am

    Congratulations Molly!! You look absolutely stunning and your beautiful dress is a masterpiece you should be so proud of how magnificent it looks. And you are the most glowing bride! It is lovely to see you looking so happy in these pictures :) My best wishes for a wonderful life together

  20. July 25, 2012 8:29 am

    Beautiful dress and it looks like you had a fabulous day.

  21. July 25, 2012 6:05 pm

    Molly you look absolutely gorgeous and so happy!!! Well done on making your dress, it really is fab. Very best wishes to Mr & Mrs Toferet ;-)

  22. July 25, 2012 6:29 pm

    eeee this dress looks AMAZING! You’ve really nailed the Middleton dress. Does this mean you get rear of the year now? ;) Congratulations on the wedding, it looks like you had an absolute blast.

  23. July 25, 2012 7:16 pm

    Congratulations! Both you and the dress are gorgeous. Great work on sewing a challenging dress under pressure.

  24. July 30, 2012 1:53 pm

    Amazing dress and amazing bride! Congrats on the wedding, looks like you all had a blast.

  25. July 31, 2012 2:23 pm

    Linked here from MezzoCouture, and just wanted to say, what a gorgeous dress – you look so beautiful and the silk looks perfect and stunning – amazing job!! You nailed it!! :)

  26. August 5, 2012 8:22 am

    Gorgeous dress! Looks like a wonderful day :) Congrats!

  27. May 13, 2013 5:28 am

    So, So, SO beautiful. I know I’m completely late to the party – but I LOVE your dress! You look wonderful :)

Trackbacks

  1. 2012 “Making” Statistics « Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  2. Would you sew… your own Wedding Dress? « poppykettle

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

