Skip to content

It’s a Cat!

July 20, 2012

I decided to take a break from my fast pace of garment sewing and do some crafty stuff! I always have so many ideas for things like little toys or doll clothes to make that I just can’t decide sometimes. This project I’ve been wanting to tackle for a while now.

This is a stuffed cat my Grandma made, probably from a pattern that would be impossible for me to track down again. But Grandma always used patterns (sometimes even copying the fabrics used in the sample photo exactly). So I decided to try to copy it and make a pattern from it.

In progress, all over my desk

Fray check is definitely your friend with tiny seam allowances

My version on left and Grandma’s on the right, sitting on top of the pattern

I’m still not totally happy with my version, it seems like it’s a little too skinny. So I’m still deciding about when to post the pattern I’ve made, if I want to try adjusting it more to get a chubbier look.

Oh, and Spot was extremely helpful…

Chillin’ behind the sewing machine

I think these might be awesome cat toys if I stuffed them with catnip, yesterday I came home and found one of these moved out into the living room…

“Wha? I didn’t do anything”

And you want to see a funny cat video too right? Of course you do, this post is all about cats after all. I was making a pillow quilt baby blanket (same as my mom just did), but Spot is always suspicious of fabric spread flat on the floor.

~Molly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. The Oldest Sister permalink
    July 20, 2012 6:29 am

    These little kitties were my favorite of grandmas crafty projects! Good job!

  2. July 20, 2012 7:06 am

    that is really neat, I especially like the fact that it stands by itself, great job!

  3. July 20, 2012 7:11 am

    It is impossible for me to lay any fabric out on the floor. I instantly have two cats that plop themselves right on top. And the worst is pattern tissue. If I have pattern tissue spread out on the floor while I’m cutting it I have one cat that will run from wherever she is in the house, jump in it and tear it up.

  4. July 20, 2012 7:53 am

    You know, those would be perfect to put in the pockets of dresses for little girls, hint, hint…..when will sweet blogger be posting that pdf? They are so cute!

  5. July 20, 2012 11:05 am

    What a cute cat! The video is funny as well.

Trackbacks

  1. Baby Blankets « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

