Skip to content

The Olympic Games are not about Athletics, they’re about Fashion and Politics.

July 18, 2012
by

I’ll be the second person in conversation (Pedro being the first, she’s often more angry) to tell you that about half the time Americans are down right stupid. They speak before thinking and never do the math. I try really hard not to be like that, and I’m pretty sure a lot of other Americans do too. But for some reason the only Americans that become politicians and national news anchors are the stupid, overly dramatic kind.

I say all this not to belittle my own country; I do really like it here and feel absolutely no need to live elsewhere. In fact I count myself lucky for many reasons. But why do people blow up about the dumbest things, while completely ignoring reality? Case in point, it was recently uncovered that the US Olympic opening ceremony outfits were not manufactured in the US. Harry Reid thinks the uniforms should be burned because of it. I bet half the cloths he was wearing in that interview weren’t made in the US.

I only bring this up because Fashionista did a great response article summing up exactly how I feel.

Chicago Tribune Olympics writer added this to the argument: (via IHT) “Until the U.S. government starts providing funds for Olympic athletes, as every other government in the world does, Congress has no truck telling the U.S. Olympic Committee where to get its uniforms or where they should be made.”

I bet a good chunk of those outfits got donated to the Olympic Committee, so I doubt they were about to turn Ralph Lauren away. Also, how many US citizens do you think it took to design, pattern and sample those uniforms before they were sent to China to be manufactured? My guess is enough to make me happy.

And on top of that (I think before the China issue came up) Fox new’s stupidly said they didnt’ like the uniforms because beret’s aren’t American, they’re French? Hmm, what kind of hat has the US military been sporting for more than 50 years? A beret. Pretty sure the olympians can wear beret’s if the military can.

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2012 9:27 am

    Since I live abroad I’m not up on the controversy. I think you made excellent points though. :)

  2. July 18, 2012 1:44 pm

    Yeah! You get ‘em Molly! I totally agree, though foo on Ralph Lauren in general.

    • July 18, 2012 2:02 pm

      Ya, I’m not a fan of the actual design of these outfits, but that’s just me.

  3. July 18, 2012 4:17 pm

    Amen! I thought that was the stupidest news story I’ve heard in a long time.

  4. July 20, 2012 4:58 am

    OMG you’re not Canadian? XD You must rectify that immediately by moving Northwards XD XD
    Given that my interest in the actual Olympics does not extends no further than ESPN’s Olympic nudes sorry ‘Body Issue’ (the only article of quality and interest that company has ever published) – wait, you watch Fox news? Then you deserve to be angry XD Sorry, I don’t have a TV and my only exposure to Fox is from Stephen Colbert, Jon Stuart and Futurama using Fox as humour fodder. So yea, uniforms. No, nothing should be made in China until they fix their labour laws to make workers organisations legal and not punishable by life imprisonment but yea it is what it is. Read on one of the other blogs that the org. the blogger is part of (sewing-related) offered to bespoke their uniforms so that’s good – they won’t be made by some blind 3 yr old for two sesame seeds an hour.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

