Skip to content

Bridget the Bridesmaid

July 16, 2012

Still waiting on pictures from the photographer so I thought I give you a little teaser/related post!

You all know I made my own wedding dress, as per family tradition, but I also made one of the three bridesmaid dresses. My mom (Bia) made the two dresses for my sisters (Pedro and the Older Sister), and I made the third for my friend Bridget. Originally I didn’t have any specifications on what their dresses should look like other than I wanted yellow, until someone complained that there wasn’t any good yellow fabric so I switched it to silver/gray. So the dresses weren’t going to match in the first place because everyone would have different fabrics, but I also was going to let each of them pick their own pattern too. That is until Pedro picked the pattern you see here and the Older Sister decided she wanted that pattern too, therefor Bridget pretty much had to use the same pattern because only two out of three dresses being the same pattern would look weird. But really, that made it easy for Bridget cause then she didn’t have the added pressure of finding a good pattern (I think that might have been over whelming for someone who doesn’t sew or even look at sewing patterns at all).

Pattern: B5640

Pattern Description: Loose-fitting dress has front and back gathers, self-faced midriff and extended overarms. C: Self ties and sleeve bands. For Bridget’s dress I made the self ties.

Pattern Sizing: 8-22, I think I started out with an 18 based on the measurements that she sent me, but I ended up taking out around 3 inches of ease around the zipper (because I didn’t feel like unpicking the waistband). So we probably could have gotten away with 16 or even 14.

Fabric Used: Swirly Dot Acetate Lining from Gorgeous Fabrics, which was on sale around christmas time last year and since Bridget doesn’t live all that close to me we just picked it out online. And I couldn’t remember how much fabric we needed so she bought about double what was necessary, just in case. Maybe she’ll be getting another dress sometime haha!

Even thought it’s a lining fabric it worked fine and was opaque enough.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, but I think Bridget’s looked better. This pattern definitely doesn’t have the best cover art or photography.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Well, I didn’t pick it out, and I don’t think I ever would for myself even though it turned out great, but I like that it was easy to fit and make because I had limited time and Bridget wasn’t near me for fittings.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None other than choosing to only make the self ties and not the pockets or collar, but that’s the point of the pattern.

Would you sew it again? Doubt it, I won’t be making it for myself just because it’s not my style (and I don’t have the right size range for myself)

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, it’s easy to make and has minimal fit issues, just look out for ease. You might want to use the finished garment measurements instead of the size chart.

~Molly

We had a photo booth at the reception. Pretty much the best idea ever (Thank you Older Sister!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2012 7:53 am

    I love that she’s wearing flats. Looks very pretty and comfortable!

  2. July 16, 2012 8:32 am

    That’s lining fabric?!?!?!? Word fail me. It’s such a beautiful dress. And photo booths are the best fun, aren’t they? :)

  3. July 16, 2012 8:58 am

    Aw, everyone looks so happy and such. Love it. Maybe my next wedding will be that cool!

  4. July 17, 2012 12:25 am

    The fabric works so well! She looks lovely in it.

Trackbacks

  1. Birthday Pennant | Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  2. Sew Bossy: Minnesota via Ireland Edition | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

