Skip to content

The Mountain Man Sweater

July 2, 2012
by

Again, it’s taken me 6 months from original concept to get around to sewing a winter garment because my queue it massive I’m sewing for the next season ahead of time! It’s actually very useful to have my winter stuff sewn before winter starts, even if I originally wanted this for last winter and it probably would be a little more fun to be sewing light dresses and tank tops in this heat. Now I’ll be ready when it gets cold!

This sweater was soooo easy! And thank goodness it didn’t take long too because the sweater fleece is very thick and fuzzy… and it’s about 100F outside right now. I’d have been dying if it took too long.

I’m calling this my mountain man sweater because it looks to me like what a mountain man would wear. I know, very original. But it is in that ski lodge/old man type of style.

Pattern: Sweater Dress 10/2011 #111

Pattern Description: From the German Burda site: Looks like knitting, but is sewn from boucle knit fabric: dress with wide neck and V-neck, which is better than the English site because they don’t have a description at all.

Pattern Sizing: 36-44, I made a 36 and it feels appropriately loose.

Fabric Used: Sweater fleece, it looks like a knitted sweater fabric on one side and normal fleece on the other. Pretty much awesome, in my opinion, because you don’t have to knit to get a sweet sweater!

Steph just did a really nice post on polar fleece (how it’s made, where it came from) too, I think fleece is going to be extra fashionable this winter!

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except for the length which I changed

Were the instructions easy to follow? I thought they were pretty easy and short. I just read through them once and it was pretty simple to figure out since it’s not a super complicated pattern.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the big hem bands and how loose it is, it will be great in the winter because I’m constantly cold at school. The collar is pretty big, but will be useful when it’s windy, won’t need a scarf probably!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I shortened the pattern by a good 6-8 inches, I forget how much exactly because I just held the pieces up to myself and picked a length, keeping in mind the hem band would add another 3 inches.

Would you sew it again? Yes, if I found another cool sweater fleece, or just a cool fleece… I think it’s on sale this week*

Would you recommend it to others? Yes! Very easy and fun, I think.

~Molly

*An joke in my family because fleece is literally on sale constantly at Hancocks, and for some reason a lot of people don’t know this so on Black Friday (big shopping day the day after Thanksgiving, for those of you not in the US consumer culture, supposedly kicking off christmas shopping season [as if I'm really going to wait til Thanksgiving to start figuring people's holiday presents out! Psh!]) there are always a ton of people buying tons of fleece. Hancocks must make more of an effort that day to get their ads out to the general public instead of just us sewing geeks.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2012 6:36 am

    Where is all that fleece going??? Hancock sells enough fleece to…..do something ridiculous with statistics involving fleece! Is it part of a well-stocked bombed shelter? bottled water, spam, fleece???

  2. July 2, 2012 7:05 am

    I agree! What do people do with all that fleece?

  3. July 2, 2012 8:20 am

    Hehehe…. yup – that’s how I end up sewing ahead of the season, too…. if and when it ever happens!

  4. leuinda permalink
    July 2, 2012 8:44 am

    So nice! I’ve never considered working with fleece but feel inspired, now. Congratulations, by the way! My brother’s wedding was on the same day so in some weird cyber-stalking way, I will always remember your anniversary. Leu (who got free patterns from you!)

    (PS What I made for the wedding http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&ID=76774. )

  5. July 2, 2012 5:36 pm

    That top would be perfect right now for the southern hemisphere winter.

  6. July 3, 2012 12:29 am

    That looks so cozy!

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Doll Post: Using Scraps « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

