Skip to content

Fabric From Seattle

June 27, 2012
by

More specifically from downtown Seattle because we didn’t have a car and even if we did, I wouldn’t want to try driving around when I don’t know where I’m going on those packed streets.

First is Stitches Seattle, a small independent fabric store just about a mile from the waterfront, on the west side of the interstate. I actually discovered this place last time we visited Seattle (we have friends that live in the downtown area, so easy to walk to) and spent way too much money. This time I was more picky on purpose because I still have some of the fabric from last time I visited (mostly because of indecision, you know how that goes), and they’re fabric does tend to be more expensive than I usually buy at cheapo Hancocks. This time I found a couple really nice knits:

White leaf print burn-out jersey

Black and off-white striped jersey, pretty excited about this one because the stripes are woven in not printed, that can be hard to find. I think it might be organic cotton (mixed with poly) too because it was in the organic fabric corner, but wasn’t really marked other than the cotton/poly percentages

So, those are nice. But Mr. Husband (could also be Mr. Enabler) promised to buy me some fabric as a birthday present (which was the Thursday before the wedding), and I had noticed as we walked around that a shop downtown specializing in Finnish products sold Marimekko fabric. You know how some people just go crazy of Liberty of London? I don’t care for those tiny flowers, I like my big, bold and graphic prints. Basically, owning Marimekko fabric is a sewing fantasy. It’s very expensive, but also very nice and beautiful. I was actually resistant to the idea of buying Marimekko because it is so expensive, but if you prod me enough on something I want, I’ll go along, even if it is against my better judgement.

The shop girls were very nice and helped me pull down nearly half the bolts off the high shelves until I picked one (side note: this particular store didn’t have a cutting table, so it was really funny watching two of the shop girls carefully measure out and cut 2 yards of fabric with a yard stick. And they were very generous in their cutting, I think because it was pretty inaccurate, so I got a couple extra inches.) But then after all that, Mr. Husband had me go back and pick out a second one. Like I said, enabler.

“Annansilma”

For at least one of these fabrics I want to make a shift dressĀ reminiscentĀ of the Marimekko dresses from the 60s when they first became popular. I think that kind of dress would show off the print the best. Not sure if I want two of that kind, it will definitely take some time to decide, I don’t want to rush into using this fabric. And test dresses will definitely be in order. This is the second most expensive fabric I’ve ever owned after my wedding dress silk!

“Siirtolapuutarha”

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2012 7:02 am

    Beautiful fabric! I love the bold prints too :)

  2. June 27, 2012 11:53 am

    Yay for enabling husbands! Enjoy it! Love those prints – I really do like Liberty prints as big bold prints scare me since I’m a bit pattern-placement challenged. Can’t wait to see what you sew up with these!

  3. June 29, 2012 12:31 am

    I completely understand about liberty fabrics. They are pretty but not my cuppa… I am supremely jealous of your lovely lovely buys. Wow that last one is gorgeous.

    Your boy is a goodun I think! :)

  4. June 29, 2012 2:39 pm

    Fabulous fabrics!

Trackbacks

  1. Fabric Tourism: Seattle | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

