Skip to content

Utilitarian Clothing and Mr. Potato Head

June 18, 2012
by

Being Americans, Thanksgiving is a particularly big holiday in my family (more so than any other because we’re not extremely religious, and not christian. Though we do do Christmas simply for traditions sake, and pine trees make your house smell awesome. And I’m a little crazy about ornaments, they’re just so fun!). Thanksgiving is a holiday centered around cooking and eating large amounts of delicious food (very American, I think), and we take it very seriously. So seriously in fact that we form semi-competitive “teams” to cook various types of food. The most notorious team is Team Potato, because the perfect mashed potatoes are crucial to a successful Thanksgiving day. We make tshirts even.

No one could find a picture from last Thanksgiving so here is Pedro modeling her unmodified Team Potato tshirt. Such a good picture taker.

But I don’t like this style of tshirt for anything other than wearing to a Team Potato event, so they needed to be “refashioned.” I came home with 2 size M tshirts because of ordering minimums and a size confusion. So I turned them into the most useful of garments, 2 tank top/ undershirts. One using the fronts (printed) of the tshirts, and one plain white made from the backs (which I didn’t take pictures of cause I wore it the day before underneath something, but you can use your imagination, it looks exactly the same but all white).

Pattern: M4872 OOP

Pattern Description: Tops have neckline variations; top A has spaghetti straps; top B has short sleeve; top C has long flare sleeve; top D has shoulder skimming band and long sleeves.

Pattern Sizing: X-Small, Small, Medium, I made smalls

Fabric Used: Basic men’s cut tshirts (stable knit)

The best part of using old tshirts for new tank tops is they don’t ride up during the day like my store bought ones do because, while they’re fitted, they’re not skin tight.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes. I followed they’re instructions to just turn the neckline edges over twice, but I don’t think it’s the best method, next time I think I’ll use some elastic to eliminate the stretched out gaping that happened.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s basic but fits really well! I don’t think I’ve seen any recent patterns that are this versatile.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I cut the pieces out so the bottom edge landed on the original hem of the tshirt, so I didn’t have to hem the tank tops! Unfortunately doing that cut off the Team Potato lettering at the top, oh well.

Would you sew it again? Yes, I’ve made the tshirts before too and they’re really nice as well.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, if you have it/can find it, but being out of print that might be hard.

All in all, a successful use of Team Potato resources.

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2012 6:41 am

    hahaha that first photo cracked me up- awesome re-fashion. I’ve been doing some re-fashioning today but I dunno if it worked out as well as yours..

  2. June 19, 2012 8:15 am

    That is a genius idea for old tees. And I have to know- does anyone want to be on team green bean?

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

